Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/27/2024 04:17:20

Sponsor 743
July 15
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (NAPA Know How 50) - $12,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 16, 6:43 am)
O'Neal stays hot, takes Tri-City's NAPA 50
NAPA Know How 50
  1. Hudson O'Neal
  2. Tim McCreadie
  3. Jimmy Owens
  4. Tyler Erb
  5. Brandon Sheppard
  6. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  7. Spencer Hughes
  8. Earl Pearson Jr.
  9. Jason Feger
  10. Garrett Alberson
  11. Shannon Babb
  12. Rickey Frankel
  13. Ross Robinson
  14. Billy Laycock
  15. Daulton Wilson
  16. Brian Shirley
  17. Rusty Griffaw
  18. Logan Martin
  19. Brent McKinnon
  20. Nick Hoffman
  21. Trevor Gundaker
  22. Jeff Herzog
  23. Kyle Bronson
  24. Stormy Scott
  25. Payton Freeman
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Hudson O'Neal waves the checkers at Tri-City Speedway.
What won the race: Going back-to-back on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., led all but two early circuits en route to winning Friday night’s NAPA Know How 50 at Tri-City Speedway. The 21-year-old talent turned back a late threat from Tim McCreadie to take the $12,000 top prize by 0.588 of a second over the national tour’s current points leader.
Quotable: “This is awesome,” O’Neal said. “To go back-to-back with the year we’ve had, it’s pretty cool. We’ll see if we can’t make it 3-for-3 tomorrow at Wheatland (Missouri’s Lucas Oil Speedway).”
Key notes: O’Neal shot to the lead on the opening lap before ceding the top spot to Spencer Hughes on lap four, but by the sixth circuit O’Neal was back in front and never was headed. … O’Neal’s 16th career Lucas Oil Series triumph was his third this season, all coming in the last nine days. He broke through on July 6 at Davenport, Iowa, and also won Thursday’s feature at I-70 Speedway in Odessa, Mo. … McCreadie slipped past Tyler Erb for second on lap 37 and closed to O’Neal’s rear bumper two circuits later, but he couldn’t mount a serious challenge because the 3/8-mile oval’s inside lane locked down. … Jimmy Owens finished third after overtaking Erb on lap 40. … Hughes faded to a seventh-place finish after starting from the outside pole and leading laps 4-5 while polesitter Earl Pearson Jr. was never a factor in finishing eighth. … The race’s only caution flag flew on lap 12 when Stormy Scott slowed. … Modified ace Nick Hoffman finished 20th driving Shannon Babb's second car. ... Payton Freeman started the feature with a fast-time provisional after going to a backup car due to a heat incident. ... The Kevin and Tammy Gundaker-owned track hosted the series for the 23rd time.
On the move: Rusty Griffaw of Festus, Mo., started 25th and finished 17th.
Winner's sponsors: O’Neal’s Double Down Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Lazydays RV, O’Neal’s Salvage and Recycling, 2150 Enterprises, WR1 Sim Chassis, Smoky Mountain Speedway, VP Racing Fuels, Tarpy Trucking, Integra Racing Shocks, Matco Tools, Midwest Sheet Metal, FK Rod Ends and Lucas Oil.
Points chase: After Tri-City: 1. Tim McCreadie (4,780); 2. Brandon Sheppard (4,660); 3. Ricky Thornton Jr. (4,550); 4. Tyler Erb (4,430); 5. Hudson O’Neal (4,400); 6. Earl Pearson Jr. (4,210); 7. Garrett Alberson (3,930); 8. Daulton Wilson (3,730); 9. Spencer Hughes (3,620); 10. Ross Robinson (3,460).
Current weather: Clear, 79°F
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Earl Pearson Jr.
Time: 15.018 seconds
Polesitter: Earl Pearson Jr.
Heat race winners: Earl Pearson Jr., Hudson O'Neal, Spencer Hughes, Tim McCreadie
Consolation race winners: Ross Robinson, Brian Shirley
Provisional starters: Payton Freeman, Jeff Herzog, Rusty Griffaw
Next series race: July 16, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $15,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pearson, Hughes
Row 2: O'Neal, McCreadie
Row 3: Owens, Erb
Row 4: Alberson, Sheppard
Row 5: Scott, Thornton
Row 6: Martin, Babb
Row 7: Feger, McKinnon
Row 8: Frankel, Laycock
Row 9: Robinson, Shirley
Row 10: Wilson, Hoffman
Row 11: Gundaker, Bronson
Row 12: Freeman, Herzog
Row 13: Griffaw
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information