Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/24/2024 23:50:46

Sponsor 743
May 28
Boyd's Speedway,
Ringgold, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $5,053
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 29, 7:41 am)
McCarter gets first Spring Nationals win at Boyd's
  1. Mack McCarter
  2. Payton Freeman
  3. Carson Ferguson
  4. Jensen Ford
  5. Brandon Williams
  6. Cody Overton
  7. Jason Croft
  8. Eli Beets
  9. Dalton Cook
  10. Will Roland
  11. Justin Cameron
  12. Jordy Nipper
  13. Dusty Carver
  14. John Ownbey
  15. Joe Denby
  16. Brian Burke
  17. Dillon Crim
  18. Heath Hindman
  19. Tim Thornton
  20. Kenny Collins
  21. David Crabtree
  22. Stanton Davis
presented by
What won the race: Muscling ahead of early pacesetter Jensen Ford on the 12th circuit, polesitter Mack McCarter of Gatlinburg, Tenn., raced to his first career Schaeffer’s Spring Nationals victory on Saturday night at Boyd’s Speedway. He scored the $5,053 prize ahead of sixth-starting Payton Freeman and 10th-starting Carson Ferguson.
Quotable: “We are usually terrible here, but we had a hard tire on and I knew if we just hung around the front that we would be there at the end,” McCarter said. “I just have to thank everyone associated with this team. MasterSbilt — this is only our third race on this car — and my whole family and crew for their support. I couldn’t really tell how big of a lead I had from the signals in the infield, so I just tried to drive as hard as I could and not mess up.”
Key notes: McCarter finished 1.571 seconds ahead of Payton Freeman, who edged closer to series points leader Carson Ferguson. ... McCarter's victory came after back-to-back second-place finishes in his previous two starts. He was second in May 7 Southern All Star action at I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, Tenn., and followed that May 14 with a Super Late Model runner-up finish at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway. ... Three cautions slowed the action, including a multicar pileup on the second lap. ... Dillon Crim (lap 24) and Justin Cameron (lap 26) also drew yellows. ... Fourteen cars completed 40 laps at Boyd's.
On the move: Carson Ferguson of Concord, N.C., started 10th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: McCarter's MasterSbilt Chassis is powered by Jay Dickens Engine and carries sponsorship from Beeman Lumber, Parkway Liquor Store, West End Package Store, Tennessee Homemade Wines, and Bilstein Shocks.
Points chase: Before Boyd’s: 1. Carson Ferguson (1,486); 2. Payton Freeman (1,442); 3. Cla Knight (1,438); 4. Jensen Ford (868); 5. Brandon Overton (770); 6. Joe Denby (718); 7. Garrett Smith (584); 8. Michael Page (582); 9. Josh Putnam (570); 10. Christian Hanger (558).
Current weather: Few Clouds, 73°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Jensen Ford
Time: 14.637 seconds
Polesitter: Mack McCarter
Next series race: May 29, Duck River Raceway Park (Wheel, TN) $5,053
Editor's note: Corrects lap of winning pass.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McCarter, Ford
Row 2: Beets, Williams
Row 3: Croft, Freeman
Row 4: Overton, Ownbey
Row 5: Collins, Ferguson
Row 6: Cook, Carver
Row 7: Hindman, Nipper
Row 8: Roland, Crabtree
Row 9: Denby, Crim
Row 10: Burke, Cameron
Row 11: Thornton, Davis
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information