Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/24/2024 06:46:34

Sponsor 743
August 13
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Vision Wheel Topless Outlaw Series - $11,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 14, 12:49 pm)
Bare rolls to $11,000 Shootout at the Gap win
  1. Tyler Bare
  2. Ronnie Johnson
  3. Chase King
  4. Jed Emert
  5. Barrett Lowe
  6. Ryan King
  7. Rusty Ballenger
  8. Phillip Thompson
  9. Jason Manley
  10. Kyle Courtney
  11. Jason Trammell
  12. Austin Neely
  13. Robbie Emory
  14. Michael Batten
  15. Noah Phillips
  16. Derrick Rankin
  17. Dustin Mitchell
  18. Brad Lowe
  19. Jason Welshan
  20. Walker Arthur
  21. Skip Arp
  22. Mack McCarter
  23. Derick Quade
  24. Josh Collins
presented by
Zack Kloosterman
Tyler Bare picked up an $11,000 victory at Volunteer Speedway.
What won the race: Taking the lead on a lap-27 restart when Jason Welshan of Maryville, Tenn., suffered a race-ending mishap, seventh-starting Tyler Bare of Rockbridge Baths, Va., cruised the remaining distance to win Saturday's 50-lap Shootout at the Gap at Volunteer Speedway. Bare earned $11,000 for his first career feature victory with the Vision Wheel Topless Outlaw Series and the Steel Block Bandits Dirt Late Model Challenge Series, the two tours that co-sanctioned the event.
Key notes: After leading laps 13-26, Welshan was unable to continue and finished 19th. ... Tenth-starting Ronnie Johnson moved into the runner-up position on lap 42 and finished 0.774 of a second behind Bare. ... Chase King raced inside the top five all race and finished third. ... Kyle Courtney, the winner of the only previous Topless Outlaw Series visit to Volunteer Speedway in 2020, finished 10th. ... Dustin Mitchell, a three-time Steel Block Bandits Series feature winner this year, completed 49 laps and finished 17th. ... Polesitter Skip Arp, a two-time Topless Outlaw Series feature winner this year, led early but retired on lap 11. ... The feature was slowed by three cautions and lasted 28 minutes; 15 competitors completed all 50 laps.
On the move: Austin Neely of New Tazewell, Tenn., started 24th and finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Bare’s Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsorship from May’s Recycling, Pre-Mach Incorporated, Blue Grass Farm, Thurston Spring Service, Sunoco by Hank Thomas Performance, Rhodenizer Heating & Air, Lee-Hi Truck Parts, SLX Southern Cattle Company, JTB Hauling & Excavating, DeSigns and KRS Graphics.
Points chase: Topless Outlaws before Volunteer: 1. Chase King (1,545); 2. Jason Manley (1,284); 3. Brad Lowe (1,185); 4. Jake Whitehead (845); 5. Kyle Courtney (795). Steel Block Bandits before Volunteer: 1. Dustin Mitchell (356); 2. Tyler Bare (333); 3. Derrick Quade (309); 4. Robbie Emory (301); 5. Michael Batten (300).
Current weather: Few Clouds, 70°F
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Barrett Lowe
Time: 13.459 seconds
Polesitter: Skip Arp
Heat race winners: Skip Arp, Chase King, Jason Welshan, Kyle Courtney
Consolation race winners: Noah Phillips, Josh Collins
Provisional starters: Michael Batten, Brad Lowe, Derrick Rankin, Austin Neely
Next series race: August 20, Tazewell Speedway (Tazewell, TN) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Arp, Welshan
Row 2: King, Courtney
Row 3: Ba. Lowe, McCarter
Row 4: Bare, Quade
Row 5: King, Johnson
Row 6: Arthur, Emert
Row 7: Manley, Trammell
Row 8: Ballenger, Thompson
Row 9: Phillips, Collins
Row 10: Emory, Mitchell
Row 11: Batten, Br. Lowe
Row 12: Rankin, Neely

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information