Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/30/2024 10:27:52

Sponsor 743
May 28
Fairbury Speedway,
Fairbury, IL
Sanction: MARS Racing Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 29, 1:50 pm)
Spatola scores first MARS win at Fairbury
  1. Mike Spatola
  2. Jason Feger
  3. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  4. Ryan Unzicker
  5. McKay Wenger
  6. Jake Little
  7. Bob Gardner
  8. Blaze Burwell
  9. Rickey Frankel
  10. Jayme Zidar
  11. Mark Voigt
  12. Roben Huffman
  13. Billy Hough
  14. Tommy Sheppard Jr.
  15. Nick Allen
  16. Derek Chandler
  17. Doug Tye
  18. Mike Provenzano
  19. Scott Schmitt
  20. Myles Moos
  21. Kevin Weaver
  22. Glen Thompson
presented by
Rocky Ragusa
Jason Feger (25) nearly rolled in his last-ditch bid to overtake winner Mike Spatola (89).
What won the race: Holding off Jason Feger and Frank Heckenast Jr. after a pair of late cautions, third-starting Mike Spatola of Manhattan, Ill., soared to his first MARS Racing Series victory Saturday at Fairbury Speedway. He captured the $3,000 prize ahead of the eighth-starting Feger.
Key notes: MARS Racing Series point leader and hometown pilot McKay Wenger started on the pole and finished fifth. … Fourth-starting Myles Moos of Lincoln, Ill., retired on lap 13 after losing a tire. … Division rookie Tommy Sheppard Jr., winner of the previous MARS event in Quincy, Ill., was credited with a 14th-place finish after jumping the cushion and drawing a late caution.
On the move: Jayme Zidar of Greenfield, Wis., started 18th and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Spatola’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Custom Race Engine and sponsored by Big Daddy Scrap, B&D Chemical, Steve’s Performance, TJS Mechanical, Illinois State Rifle Association, V.R. Haag Consulting and Allstar Performance.
Points chase: Before Fairbury: 1. McKay Wenger (134); 2. Jason Feger (129); 3. Ryan Unzicker (129); 4. Tommy Sheppard Jr. (127); 5. Dennis Erb Jr. (105).
Current weather: Clear, 68°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: McKay Wenger
Time: 12.625 seconds
Polesitter: McKay Wenger
Heat race winners: McKay Wenger, Frank Heckenast Jr., Mike Spatola
Next series race: May 29, Spoon River Speedway (Banner, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Corrects second- and third-place finishers, reversing the order.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Wenger, Heckenast
Row 2: Spatola, Moos
Row 3: Burwell, Sheppard
Row 4: Unzicker, Feger
Row 5: Little, Allen
Row 6: Gardner, Schmitt
Row 7: Frankel, Huffman
Row 8: Weaver, Hough
Row 9: Chandler, Zidar
Row 10: Voigt, Thompson
Row 11: Provenzano, Tye
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information