Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/22/2024 05:38:33

Sponsor 743
April 16
Fayetteville Motor Speedway,
Fayetteville, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 18, 4:13 pm)
Pursley wires Carolina Clash field at Fayetteville
  1. Johnny Pursley
  2. Willie Milliken
  3. Dustin Mitchell
  4. Jeff Smith
  5. Dennis Franklin
  6. John Price
  7. Kenny Collins
  8. Spencer Liggon
  9. Zach Cox
  10. Adam Yarbrough
  11. Mike Huey
  12. Ron Geehring II
  13. David Yandle
  14. Mike Parker
  15. Dean Bowen
  16. Michael Rouse
  17. Christian Thomas
  18. Brandon Marshall
  19. Roger Lucas
  20. Chris Blackwell
presented by
Kevin Ritchie
Johnny Pursley earned his 12th career Carolina Clash win at Fayetteville.
What won the race: Front-row starter Johnny Pursley of Clover, S.C., led all 40 laps at Fayetteville Motor Speedway on Saturday night, earning $5,000 for 12th career Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory and first since the 2017 opener. The 2016 Clash champ, who survived a first-lap tangle that caused body damage on his car, beat Willie Milliken of Roanoke Rapids, Va., N.C., to the finish line by 0.441 of a second.
Key notes: Front-row starters Johnny Pursley and Michael Rouse tangled in turn three on the initial start with Pursley going around to trigger an eight-car pileup. The field was reset with Pursley back on the pole and he took command on the next start. ... The victory placed Pursley in a tie for sixth on the tour's all-time win list. ... Willie Milliken inherited second place on a lap-18 restart and remained in the spot to the finish. ... Fifth-starting Dustin Mitchell completed the podium in third place. ... The pole-starting Rouse ran second to Pursley until he tangled with Mike Huey while lapping him on the 17th circuit. Rouse was unable to continue, relegating him to a 16th-place finish. ... Saturday's feature, the Carolina Clash's 71st appearance at Fayetteville, was slowed by four separate incidents and lasted 30 minutes; 14 competitors completed 40 laps.
On the move: Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., started 11th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Pursley’s Longhorn Chassis carries a Clements Racing Engine and sponsorship from Mid-Atlantic Roofing Supply, Farmer’s Service Center, Eagle Manufacturing, JP Environmental Landscaping & Grading, Pursley Grading, FK Rod Ends and Hoosier Tire.
Points chase: After Fayetteville: 1. Dennis Franklin (215); 2. John Price (208); 3. Mike Huey (184); 4. Ron Geehring II (180); 5. Adam Yarbrough (176).
Current weather: Clear, 72°F
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Michael Rouse
Time: 14.804 seconds
Polesitter: Michael Rouse
Next series race: April 22, Lavonia Speedway (Lavonia, GA) $0
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Rouse, Pursley
Row 2: Milliken, Price
Row 3: Liggon, Mitchell
Row 4: Smith, Bowen
Row 5: Cox, Yarbrough
Row 6: Franklin, Thomas
Row 7: Collins, Blackwell
Row 8: Yandle, Huey
Row 9: Geehring II, Parker
Row 10: Marshall, Lucas
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information