Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/30/2024 04:16:28

Sponsor 743
April 10
Port Royal Speedway,
Port Royal, PA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (River Valley 40) - $10,000
Information provided by: Kevin Kovac, Kyle McFadden and series reports (last updated April 11, 12:39 pm)
Satterlee steals show for $10,000 Port Royal win
River Valley 40
  1. Gregg Satterlee
  2. Brandon Sheppard
  3. Tim McCreadie
  4. Jimmy Owens
  5. Tyler Erb
  6. Ashton Winger
  7. Ross Robinson
  8. Colton Flinner
  9. Matt Cosner
  10. Max Blair
  11. Shane Clanton
  12. Devin Moran
  13. Dylan Yoder
  14. Gary Stuhler
  15. Kyle Larson
  16. Kyle Lee
  17. Garrett Alberson
  18. Spencer Hughes
  19. Hudson O'Neal
  20. Austin Berry
  21. Daulton Wilson
  22. Rick Eckert
  23. Earl Pearson Jr.
  24. Mason Zeigler
  25. Trever Feathers
  26. Ricky Thornton Jr.
presented by
Heath Lawson/heathlawsonphotos.com
Gregg Satterlee takes the checkers for his $10,000 victory.
What won the race: Gregg Satterlee of Indiana, Pa., inherited the race lead with 15 laps to go and led the rest of the way after Kyle Larson and Earl Pearson Jr. collided amidst a fierce battle for the lead. Satterlee crossed the start-finish line 3.872 seconds ahead of Brandon Sheppard and Tim McCreadie. It's Satterlee's third career Lucas Oil Series victory and first since July 2, 2018.
Quotable: "I've been wanting a Lucas Oil Series or a World of Outlaws win at this place. This is definitely our favorite track to come race at. It's always fun racing in front of you fans. It feels awesome to finally secure one. We've been close here and there. We've had our car dialed in lately. We were looking forward to coming here tonight," Satterlee said. "I could see one of them (Larson or Pearson) spinning, but luckily Larson was far enough around the corner, or I wouldn't have seen him (because of the sun's glare). I guess this was our lucky day. I thought in that deal in the heat race I had kind of ruined out night. It just, everything fell our way tonight. I'm just really thankful things fell our way."
Key notes: Kyle Larson of Elk Grove, Calif., raced to the early lead from the outside pole and paced the first 25 laps. ... Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., stayed within four-car lengths of Larson over those first 25 laps, staging one of the more thrilling races for the win of the new season. ... With 15 laps to go, Pearson sized up a run alongside Larson down the backstretch and upon corner entry Larson tried shutting the door, thus triggering enough contact that sent Larson spinning with a flat tire off turn four. ... Pearson exited the the track during the caution period for Larson and finished 24th. ... Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., finished fourth from the 10th-starting position. ... Pearson grabbed fast-time honors with a lap of 18.471 seconds. ... Larson was fastest in Group B with a lap of 18.538 seconds.
On the move: Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., started 10th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Satterlee’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Keyser Mfg., Valvoline, Classic Ink, Integra Shocks, Simpson Race Products and Wiles Racing Driveshafts.
Points chase: After Port Royal: 1. Brandon Sheppard (1,870); 2. Devin Moran (1,855); 3. Tyler Erb (1,775); 4. Tim McCreadie (1,750); 5. Jimmy Owens (1,640); 6. Ashton Winger (1,590); 7. Ricky Thornton Jr. (1,565); 8. Earl Pearson Jr. (1,550); 9. Hudson O’Neal (1,520); 10. Shane Clanton (1,510).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 43°F
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Earl Pearson Jr.
Time: 18.471 seconds
Polesitter: Earl Pearson Jr.
Heat race winners: Earl Pearson Jr., Tim McCreadie, Kyle Larson, Brandon Sheppard
Consolation race winners: Max Blair, Dylan Yoder
Provisional starters: Ricky Thornton Jr., Garrett Alberson, Daulton Wilson, Austin Berry
Next series race: April 29, Tri-City Speedway (Granite City, IL) $12,000
Editor's note: Updates with Ricky Thornton Jr.’s disqualification after his left-rear chain mount broke during the race; he’d crossed the line 12th.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pearson, Larson
Row 2: McCreadie, Sheppard
Row 3: T. Erb, Satterlee
Row 4: Winger, Eckert
Row 5: Robinson, Owens
Row 6: Lee, Flinner
Row 7: Hughes, Clanton
Row 8: Moran, Cosner
Row 9: Blair, Yoder
Row 10: Feathers, Stuhler
Row 11: Zeigler, O'Neal
Row 12: Thornton, Alberson
Row 13: Wilson, Berry

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information