Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 04:46:12

Sponsor 743
March 6
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: XR Southern All Star Series (March Madness) - $10,000
Information provided by: Staff and series reports (last updated March 7, 2:29 am)
Madden survives tire madness, tops Cherokee
March Madness
  1. Chris Madden
  2. Mike Marlar
  3. Jonathan Davenport
  4. Daulton Wilson
  5. Carson Ferguson
  6. Austin Kirkpatrick
  7. Trent Ivey
  8. Ben Watkins
  9. Ross Bailes
  10. Bryson Harper
  11. Brandon Overton
  12. Chris Ferguson
  13. Kyle Strickler
  14. Cody Overton
  15. Matt Dooley
  16. Tim Vance
  17. Benji Hicks
  18. Carder Miller
  19. Corey Gordon
  20. Kenny Collins
  21. Dennis Franklin
  22. Jay Sessoms
  23. Banjo Duke
presented by
Zack Kloosterman
Chris Madden celebrates in victory lane at Cherokee Sunday evening.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead when race-long leader Chris Ferguson blew a right rear tire with three laps remaining, Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., led the final three laps to win Sunday’s 20th March Madness at Cherokee Speedway. The third-starting Madden finished 0.619 of a second ahead of fourth-starting Mike Marlar for a $10,000 payday in the Southern All Stars-sanctioned event.
Key notes: Madden survived late as a number of contenders fell by the wayside, many during four cautions that slowed action on lap 48. ... After Ferguson’s demise, then runner-up Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., suffered a right front flat. Lap-48 cautions also flew for Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., who stopped in turn three just after returning to the track, and for Kyle Strickler of Mooresville, N.C., who spun out of fifth place in turn four on a restart. … Madden earned his 52nd career Southern All Stars victory and first in four years. He last won March 4, 2018 in Cherokee’s 16th March Madness. He has four March Madness wins and nine SAS victories at Cherokee. … Only 10 cars were running at the finish, all on the lead lap. … Ferguson, Overton, Strickler and Cody Overton all pitted on lap 48 and did not return. … The race was slowed by 10 cautions. The longest green flag stretch was laps 13-29 as cautions flew on laps 12, 29, 34, 42 (three times) and 48 (four times). … Third-finishing Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., rebounded after a first lap tangle with Ferguson. The two made contact in turns one and two, with Davenport losing ground. He fell as far as sixth before rallying thanks to others’ tire issues. … Bailes, who won the SAS season-opener at Georgia’s Screven Motor Speedway, finished ninth. … Sunday’s race was renamed the Ginger Owens Memorial March Madness in 2020, honoring longtime scorer Ginger Owens, who lost her battle with cancer. ... The SAS tour made its lone stop at Cherokee on the 2022 season.
On the move: After a scrape in his heat race, Charlotte, N.C., transplant Austin Kirkpatrick started 17th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: The Chris Madden Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Drydene Performance Products, Franklin Enterprises, Henderson Amusement, Millwood Plumbing, Petroff Towing, Century Plastics, Davis Diesel Service, Worley Monument, VP Racing Fuels, Penske Racing Shocks, Hoosier Racing Tire and Cole Perkins Media & Promotions.
Points chase: Entering Cherokee, Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., was the points leader.
Expected entrants:
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 75°F
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Chris Ferguson
Time: 15.359 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Ferguson
Heat race winners: Chris Ferguson, Jonathan Davenport, Chris Madden, Mike Marlar
Next series race: March 18, Southern Raceway (Milton, FL) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Ch. Ferguson, Davenport
Row 2: Madden, Marlar
Row 3: Miller, B. Overton
Row 4: Strickler, Ca. Ferguson
Row 5: D. Wilson, Bailes
Row 6: Hicks, Watkins
Row 7: Duke, Ivey
Row 8: Dooley, Franklin
Row 9: Kirkpatrick, C. Overton
Row 10: Gordon, Harper
Row 11: Collins, Vance
Row 12: Sessoms

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information