Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/23/2024 15:00:43

Sponsor 743
September 23
Dubuque Speedway,
Dubuque, IA
Sanction: Hoker Trucking Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series, track and staff reports (last updated September 25, 2:15 pm)
Bruening grabs $3,000 Hoker victory at Dubuque
  1. Tyler Bruening
  2. Andy Eckrich
  3. Spencer Diercks
  4. Jason Rauen
  5. Luke Goedert
  6. Jeff Tharp
  7. Dave Eckrich
  8. Jake Neal
  9. Matt Ryan
  10. Charlie McKenna
  11. Darrel DeFrance
  12. Justin Kay
  13. Luke Pestka
  14. Joel Callahan
  15. Bobby Hansen
  16. Chad Holladay
  17. Jason Hahne
  18. Gary Webb
  19. Curt Schroeder
  20. Chad Simpson
  21. Nick Marolf
  22. Ron Klein
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Tyler Bruening earned his first victory of the season.
What won the race: Taking advantage of a break from his national traveling duties, World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series regular Tyler Bruening of Decorah, Iowa, ended his season-long winless streak with a $3,000 Hoker Trucking Series victory Thursday night at Dubuque Speedway. Bruening took the lead from runner-up Andy Eckrich on the fifth of 30 laps.
Key notes: Bruening's second-career Hoker Trucking Series victory came in the tour's first-ever visit to Dubuque. ... Bruening's previous tour victory came at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb., on July 22, 2020. That win was his most recent Late Model win before Thursday's triumph. ... Twenty of 22 starters were running at the finish and completed 30 laps. ... Todd Cooney, who entered the weekend second in series points, was hospitalized and expects to miss the weekend action. He planned to have an angiogram Friday morning after having signs of a heart attack (he's had two previous heart attacks). The 48-year-old Des Moines, Iowa, driver hopes to return to racing next week. ... Thursday's race was the first leg of a tripleheader weekend for the tour. Action moves to West Liberty (Iowa) Raceway on Friday and Davenport (Iowa) Speedway on Saturday.
On the move: Spencer Diercks of Davenport, Iowa, started eighth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Bruening’s Skyline Motorsports Capital Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Bennett Explosives, Skyline Materials, Lucas Oil Products, Bruening Rock Products, Truck Country, Super K Express, Freeman Plumbing, Olson Explosives, Carolina Concrete Finishing and Hoosier Racing Tire.
Points chase: After Dubuque: 1. Justin Kay (2,458); 2. Dave Eckrich (2,410): 3. Charlie McKenna (2,382); 4. Chad Holladay (2,358); 5. Andy Eckrich (2,356).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Tyler Bruening
Time: 15.133 seconds
Polesitter: Andy Eckrich
Heat race winners: Matt Ryan, Jake Neal, Spencer Diercks, Chad Simpson
Consolation race winners: Gary Webb, Joel Callahan
Next series race: September 25, Davenport Speedway (Davenport, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information