Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/18/2024 05:55:01

Sponsor 743
September 5
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (Baltes Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Staff and series reports (last updated September 6, 2:44 pm)
Eldora delivers ALMS first for Hughes, $5,000
Baltes Classic
  1. Spencer Hughes
  2. Hudson O'Neal
  3. Jon Henry
  4. Clint Keenan
  5. Nathon Loney
  6. Ashton Winger
  7. Jerry Bowersock
  8. Casey Noonan
  9. Curtis Roberts
  10. Rich Bell
  11. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  12. Scott James
  13. Tyler Erb
  14. Darrell Lanigan
  15. Robby Hensley
  16. Steve Casebolt
  17. Devin Moran
  18. Kody Evans
  19. Kyle Strickler
  20. Duane Chamberlain
  21. Rachel Carpenter
  22. Shane Clanton
  23. Mike Bores
  24. Steven Roberts
  25. Ryan Missler
  26. Dustin Smith
  27. Ryan VanderVeen
presented by
Tyler Carr
Spencer Hughes takes the checkers for a $5,000 victory.
What won the race: Taking the lead with an inside move through turns one and two on lap 27 as Ricky Thornton Jr.'s car belched a cloud of steam, Spencer Hughes of Meridian, Miss., paced the final three circuits to win Sunday's 30-lap Sunoco American Late Model-sanctioned Baltes Classic at Eldora Speedway. The 20-year-old beat Hudson O'Neal to the finish line by 2.643 seconds to earn $5,000 for his first-ever triumph at the half-mile oval.
Quotable: “I knew I just kind of had to bide my time there,” Hughes said. “I really wasn’t too good there at the very beginning. I just tried to keep ourselves out of trouble because with the racetrack this fast, and that much character, it’s just hard on equipment. It just worked out like I guess how it’s supposed to in lapped traffic and stuff. When that last caution come out I was just hoping to hang on and stay in the top three.”
Key notes: Hughes’s first-ever ALMS victory was also his first win since he started driving for Craig and Shannon Sims’s Hope, Ind.-based PCC Motorsports in May. … After Hughes slipped past O’Neal for second on lap 24, he quickly caught Thornton and assumed command when the leader was eliminated by a busted lower radiator hose. … Steve Casebolt led laps 1-14 before retiring during a caution period with a broken left-rear birdcage. ... Thornton led laps 15-27. … Devin Moran traded sliders with Casebolt for the lead on a lap-12 restart but slowed two circuits later with a right-front flat tire and nose damage. … Piloting the Kentucky-based Hatcher Motorsports Team Zero No. 6, Ashton Winger ran as high as third before problems on the final lap left him with a sixth-place finish. He plans to field the car at the World 100s because his own team is down on motors. … Jon Henry, who has made infrequent starts in a variety of cars in recent seasons, piloted Rick DeLong’s No. 3 to a third-place finish. … The race was slowed by three caution flags and lasted 23 minutes. … With rough-and-tumble track conditions after overnight rain, just 10 cars were running at the finish and five were on the lead lap.
On the move: Nathan Loney of Danville, Ohio, started 23rd and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Hughes’s PCC Motorsports Longhorn Chassis carries a Cornett engine and sponsorship from Professional Concrete Cutting & Drilling, Roth Heating and Cooling, Bob and Tammy Burton and Bilstein Shocks.
Points chase: Before Eldora: 1. Rich Bell (481), 2. Brandon Thirlby (357); 3. Curtis Roberts (342); 4. Rusty Schlenk (342); 5. Travis Stemler.
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Spencer Hughes
Time: 15.150 seconds
Polesitter: Steven Roberts
Heat race winners: Ricky Thornton Jr., Steve Casebolt, Steven Roberts, Devin Moran
Consolation race winners: Robby Hensley
Next series race: September 17, Tri-City Motor Speedway (Auburn, MI) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: S. Roberts, Casebolt
Row 2: Thornton, Moran
Row 3: Hughes, T. Erb
Row 4: Clanton, Lanigan
Row 5: O'Neal, Strickler
Row 6: Winger, D. Chamberlain
Row 7: Noonan, Evans
Row 8: James, Keenan
Row 9: Bowersock, Henry
Row 10: Missler, Bell
Row 11: Hensley, C. Roberts
Row 12: Loney, Bores
Row 13: D. Smith, VanderVeen
Row 14: R. Carpenter
Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information