Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/17/2024 19:49:37

Sponsor 743
August 1
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $4,053
Information provided by: Robert Holman (last updated August 2, 5:55 am)
McDowell earns $4,053 in finale at Bulls Gap
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Zack Mitchell
  3. Dakotah Knuckles
  4. Benjamin Cranford
  5. Donald McIntosh
  6. Jensen Ford
  7. Vic Hill
  8. Clay Coghlan
  9. Kaede Loudy
  10. Cody Overton
  11. Dusty Carver
  12. Jeff Neubert
  13. Joe Bray
  14. Troy Eads
  15. Travis Greer
  16. Clint Hodges
  17. Michael Chilton
presented by
Randall Perry
Dale McDowell waves to the Volunteer Speedway crowd after winning Sunday's feature.
What won the race: Keeping Zack Mitchell at bay late amid lapped traffic, second-starting Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., raced to the $4,043 Schaeffer’s Southern Nationals victory in the tour's non-points finale Sunday at Volunteer Speedway. He finished ahead of Mitchell and Dakotah Knuckles to record his seventh career series win in becoming the only driver with more than one victory in 2021.
Quotable: “The racetrack was in great shape,” McDowell said. “With them getting some rain overnight, we didn’t know how the surface would be today. Hats off to the entire crew here at Volunteer Speedway, all of the fans that came back on a Sunday, and everyone associated with the Southern Nationals Series. It’s a fun deal to run and while we came up a little short for the Championship, we had a fun few weeks out on tour with these guys!”
Key notes: McDowell led all 40 laps after stealing the lead from polesitter Zack Mitchell on the opening circuit. … Jensen Ford piloted a Blount Motorsports No. 7m entry after breaking an oil pump belt during time trials. He finished sixth. … Third-starting Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky., retired on the third lap with engine woes. … Kaede Loudy of Rogersville, Tenn., drove a Crate-powered entry to ninth place. ... The event was rescheduled from a July 19 rainout and was declared a non-points race. ... Kenny Collins, Garrett Smith and Ahnna Parkhurst were among series regulars who didn't return.
On the move: Jensen Ford of Johnson City, Tenn., started 17th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell’s Shane McDowell Racing Team Zero Race Car has a Clements Chevrolet engine and sponsorship from E-Z-Go, Cometic Gaskets, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Connected Strategy Advisors, Fox Racing Shox, Waddell Transfer, ShearWorx, Shackelford Enterprizes, Spring Pro, Northeastern Fabrication and MSRMafia.com Marketing Services.
Points chase: Final points (completed at Tazewell): 1. Donald McIntosh (1,576): 2. Dale McDowell (1,560); 3. Cody Overton (1,546); 4. Jensen Ford (1,522); 5. Kenny Collins (1,520); 6. Garrett Smith (1,474); 7. Benjamin Cranford (1,428): 8. Jeff Neubert (1,398); 9. Ahnna Parkhurst (1,382); 10. Stacy Boles (1,088).
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 73°F
Car count: 17
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 13.384 seconds
Polesitter: Zack Mitchell
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mitchell, McDowell
Row 2: Chilton, Cranford
Row 3: Hill, Knuckles
Row 4: McIntosh, Neubert
Row 5: Loudy, Overton
Row 6: Coghlan, Bray
Row 7: Carver, Hodges
Row 8: Eads, Greer
Row 9: Ford
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information