Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/24/2024 01:03:22

Sponsor 743
October 16
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $7,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 17, 10:38 am)
Shirley repels Heckenast at Tri-City for $7,000
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  3. Gordy Gundaker
  4. Garrett Alberson
  5. Tony Jackson Jr.
  6. Jeff Herzog
  7. Aaron Marrant
  8. Daniel Hilsabeck
  9. Shannon Babb
  10. Justin Duty
  11. Jason Papich
  12. Dewayne Kiefer
  13. Mason Oberkramer
  14. Rusty Griffaw
  15. Matt Furman
  16. David Webster
  17. Kayden Clatt
  18. Chad Simpson
  19. Reid Millard
  20. Bobby Pierce
  21. Jeremy Conaway
  22. Trevor Gundaker
  23. Brennon Willard
  24. Jimmy Miller
  25. Tim Simpson
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Brian Shirley (33) edged Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr) at Tri-City.
What won the race: Holding off Frank Heckenast’s high-side charge on the final circuit, third-starting Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., notched his third career Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory on Saturday at Tri-City Speedway. Shirley took the checkers in his Steve Lampley-owned car 0.123 seconds ahead of Heckenast to claim $7,000.
Quotable: “Once I got my rhythm going I felt like we were pretty good,” Shirley said. “Then I seen on that last restart … and (I) was like, ‘Man, there was four (laps) to go,’ and I seen that Gordy (Gundaker) was on the bottom. I kind of got a little timid and tried to hit my marks too much and then I seen Frankie must have gotten around (Gundaker) and then I was a little nervous. I just knew on that final lap that we had to go in there and try and hit our marks the best.”
Key notes: Shirley, who has driven Steve Lampley's car the past month, notched his second MLRA victory of the season and third of his career. He won at 34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa, this season and at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo., in 2016. ... Fifteen drivers completed 40 laps. ... With his fifth-place finish, Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., captured his second career MLRA points championship. He won his first title in 2013. … Fourth-place finisher Garrett Alberson of Las Cruces, N.M., finished second in MLRA points. … Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., retired with 12 laps remaining after losing an air cleaner.
On the move: MLRA Rookie of the Year Mason Oberkramer of Broseley, Mo., started 25th and finished 13th.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley's Steve Lampley-owned No. 33 Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Midwest Excavating, Klein's Brand Source and Randy Korte Consulting.
Points chase: Before Tri-City: 1. Tony Jackson Jr. (3,170); 2. Garrett Alberson (3,010); 3. Jason Papich (2,575); 4. Mason Oberkramer (2,400); 5. Justin Duty (2,360).
Current weather: Clear, 46°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Garrett Alberson
Time: 14.622 seconds
Polesitter: Jeff Herzog
Heat race winners: Jeff Herzog, Gordy Gundaker, Brian Shirley
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Herzog, Gundaker
Row 2: Shirley, Alberson
Row 3: Cha. Simpson, Heckenast
Row 4: Jackson, Babb
Row 5: Hilsabeck, Kiefer
Row 6: Pierce, Papich
Row 7: Marrant, Griffaw
Row 8: Conaway, Webster
Row 9: Gundaker, Duty
Row 10: Clatt, T. Simpson
Row 11: Furman, Millard
Row 12: Miller, Willard
Row 13: Oberkramer
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information