Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/18/2024 05:18:24

Sponsor 743
April 17
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (Rockin' with the Stars) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 18, 9:16 am)
Ford rocks to first Southern All Star victory
Rockin' with the Stars
  1. Jensen Ford
  2. Ricky Weiss
  3. Cory Hedgecock
  4. Dale McDowell
  5. Sam Seawright
  6. Chase King
  7. Pierce McCarter
  8. Jadon Frame
  9. Payton Freeman
  10. Dalton Cook
  11. Robby Moses
  12. Tommy Kerr
  13. Manny Falcon
  14. Jay Scott
  15. Tyler Millwood
  16. Ellery Leake
  17. Austin Franklin
  18. Austin Kirkpatrick
  19. Will Roland
  20. Donald McIntosh
  21. David Crabtree
  22. Josh Putnam
  23. Dean Bowen
  24. Billy Franklin
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Jensen Ford james in victory lane after Rockin' with the Stars.
What won the race: Pole-starting Jensen Ford of Johnson City, Tenn., led all 40 laps to win Saturday's Southern All Star feature at Smoky Mountain Speedway. Finishing 0.694 of a second ahead of Canadian Ricky Weiss, Ford earned $5,000 for his first career series triumph.
Quotable: “I bet the odds. I went on different tires as everybody else,” Ford said. “We wasn’t as good in lapped traffic I don’t think, but when we was by ourself, we was really good. Heck, I’m just happy to finish a race. I’ve only finished one race this year. We’ve been fast as it shows right here. We won this race finally. … Like I said, I’m just happy to finish a race. It sucks to have speed and not be able to show it.”
Key notes: The race was slowed by a single caution when Will Roland spun on lap 14. … Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., winner of three SAS events at Smoky Mountain, including the last two entering Saturday’s race, finished third. He lost the runner-up spot when he attempted to pass Ford on a lap-14 restart. … Reigning series champion Billy Franklin of Calera, Ala., was slated to start 23rd, but was disqualified before the feature started when a crew member in the infield threw a light stick onto the track as the cars were leaving the starting grid. … Seventeen of the 23 starters finished the race with 10 on the lead lap. … There hasn’t been a repeat winner in seven SAS events this season. … Mack McCarter of Gatlinburg, Tenn., won the $5,000-to-win Steel Block Bandits Dirt Late Model Challenge feature.
On the move: Robby Moses of Maryville, Tenn., started 21st and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Ford’s TNT Race Car is sponsored by Whitehead Construction, WPR Fabrication, Stanco Equipment, Scoun Trucking, Exel Enterprises and TruForm Race Products.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Payton Freeman (442 points) of Commerce, Ga., led Billy Franklin (404), Mark Dodson (342, Joseph Joiner (290) and Casey Turman (276).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 61°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Dale McDowell
Time: 17.028 seconds
Polesitter: Jensen Ford
Consolation race winners: Will Roland, Austin Kirkpatrick
Next series race: May 1, Clayhill Speedway (Atwood, TN) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Ford, McDowell
Row 2: Seawright, Weiss
Row 3: Hedgecock P. McCarter
Row 4: Crabtree, Kerr
Row 5: McIntosh, Bowen
Row 6: Roland, Kirkpatrick
Row 7: King, Freeman
Row 8: Frame, Cook
Row 9: Scott, Putnam
Row 10: Millwood, Leake
Row 11: Moses, A. Franklin
Row 12: B. Franklin, Falcon

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information