Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/21/2024 19:17:06

Sponsor 743
July 6
Independence Motor Speedway,
Independence, IA
Sanction: Unsanctioned Limiteds (Denny Osborn Memorial) - $7,200
Information provided by: From track reports (last updated July 7, 4:03 pm)
Aikey charges to $7,200 payday at Indee
Denny Osborn Memorial
  1. Jeff Aikey
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Justin Kay
  4. Logan Duffy
  5. Sean Johnson
  6. Tyler Bruening
  7. Dallon Murty
  8. Brian Harris
  9. Jason Hahne
  10. Ryan Gustin
  11. Luke Pestka
  12. Dave Eckrich
  13. Charlie McKenna
  14. Chad Holladay
  15. Greg Kastli
  16. Jason Rauen
  17. Jeremiah Hurst
  18. Curt Martin
  19. Gary Webb
  20. Darin Duffy
  21. Luke Goedert
  22. Darren Ackerman
  23. Matt Ryan
  24. Andy Eckrich
presented by
K.C. Rooney
Jeff Aikey celebrates his $7,200 victory with a new race car.
What won the race: Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, advanced from his 10th starting spot to win Tuesday's Denny Osborn Memorial at Independence Motor Speedway, earning a $7,200 payday in topping runner-up Chad Simpson and third-place Justin Kay in the IMCA Late Model mid-week special.
Key notes: The Buchanan County Fair Late Model Showdown received a significant purse upgrade to $7,200-to-win with the newly named Denny Osborn Memorial paying tribute to the late driver of the No. 72. ... The event, originally scheduled to pay $3,000-to-win, carried a purse of more than $30,000 with Late Models running 12-lap heat races and a 60-lap main event for a 72-lap night of Late Model action. ... Local businessman Todd Summers approached event promoter Travis Smock about honoring Osborn, the 1989 IMCA Late Model champion and longtime supporter of racing through his Waterloo Auto Parts who died May 24. ... Summers rounded up numerous sponsors to boost the race's purse. ... Late Models will run under Indee Open-style rules and joined by IMCA modifieds and stock cars.
On the move: Charlie McKenna of Ames, Iowa, started 24th and finished 13th.
Winner's sponsors: Aikey’s Rick Dralle-owned Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Quam Trucking, Pat’s Auto Salvage, Red’s Limo Service, RE/MAX Home Group Rick Bauer, Simon’s Trucking, CRE, NXT Bank and Aschenbrenner Trucking.
Points chase: Hometown driver Sean Johnson leads Independence Motor Speedway's IMCA weekly standings with 320 points over Logan Duffy (316), Scott Welsh (269) and Curt Martin (268).
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 38
Polesitter: Sean Johnson
Heat race winners: Brian Harris, Jason Rauen, Justin Kay, Luke Goedert
Consolation race winners: Darin Duffy, Dave Eckrich
Editor's note: Updates with seventh-place finisher.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Johnson, Harris
Row 2: Rauen, Goedert
Row 3: Cha. Simpson, Kay
Row 4: Ackerman, Murty
Row 5: L. Duffy, Aikey
Row 6: A. Eckrich, Bruening
Row 7: Holladay, Ry. Gustin
Row 8: Hahne, Kastli
Row 9: D. Duffy, Da. Eckrich
Row 10: Martin, Pestka
Row 11: Webb, Ryan
Row 12: Hurst, McKenna

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information