Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/28/2024 16:07:01

Sponsor 743
February 21
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series (Frostbite 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series, track and InsideDirtRacing.com reports (last updated February 24, 4:13 pm)
Madden rules Cherokee's Frostbite 40 for $5,000
Frostbite 40
  1. Chris Madden
  2. Ross Bailes
  3. Kyle Strickler
  4. Adam Yarbrough
  5. Stewart Friesen
  6. Josh Richeson
  7. Cla Knight
  8. Anthony Sanders
  9. Billy Franklin
  10. Matthew Nance
  11. Tim Vance
  12. Trent Ivey
  13. Zack Mitchell
  14. Michael Brown
  15. Larry Grube
  16. Michael Rouse
  17. Daulton Wilson
  18. Dennis Franklin
  19. David Yandle
  20. Johnny Pursley
  21. Payton Freeman
  22. Brett Hamm
  23. Dillon Brown
  24. Kenny Collins
presented by
Brian McLeod/Dirt Scenes
Chris Madden in victory lane after his Cherokee victory.
What won the race: Series points leader and reigning champ Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., led unchallenged for 40 laps to capture Sunday’s Frostbite 40 at Cherokee Speedway for a $5,000 Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series victory.
Quotable: “We wasn’t really that good in the heat race, but we made some adjustments here for the feature, and man, we had a really, really good race car for the feature,” Madden said. “It’s probably one of the best cars I’ve had here in this track condition here tonight."
Key notes: Madden, who started outside the front row, led by margins of as much as five seconds. ... Runner-up Ross Bailes was in the Billy Hicks Racing No. 79, the car he drove to a series victory the previous day at Lake View (S.C.) Motor Speedway. ... Six cautions slowed Cherokee's action, most for single-car incidents. ... David Yandle spun on lap six just in front of Madden. "That was big uh-oh," said Madden, who narrowly avoided Yandle's car. ... Trent Ivey and Zack Mitchell (flat) fell out of the top five late. ... Daulton Wilson held second early but fell from contention with a left-rear blowout on lap 14. ... John Ruggiero Jr. won Sunday's 602 Crate Late Model feature.
On the move: Stewart Friesen of Sprakers, N.Y., started 16th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: The Chris Madden Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Drydene Performance Products, Franklin Enterprises, Henderson Amusement, Millwood Plumbing, Petroff Towing, Century Plastics, Davis Diesel Service, Worley Monument, VP Racing Fuels, Penske Racing Shocks, Hoosier Racing Tire and Cole Perkins Media & Promotions.
Points chase: After Cherokee: 1. Chris Madden (300) 2. Kyle Strickler (275); 3. Daulton Wilson (240); 4. Anthony Sanders (224) 5. Trent Ivey (213).
Current weather: Clear, 48°F
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Kyle Strickler
Time: 14.985 seconds
Polesitter: Ross Bailes
Heat race winners: Kyle Strickler, Zack Mitchell, Ross Bailes
Consolation race winners: Stewart Friesen
Provisional starters: Tim Vance, David Yandle, Matthew Nance, Larry Grube
Next series race: February 27, Modoc Raceway (Modoc, SC) $7,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Bailes, Madden
Row 2: D. Mitchell, Ivey
Row 3: Strickler, Z. Mitchell
Row 4: Yarbrough, Hamm
Row 5: Rouse, Richeson
Row 6: Franklin, D. Brown
Row 7: Sanders, M. Brown
Row 8: Knight, Friesen
Row 9: Collins, Freeman
Row 10: Franklin, Pursley
Row 11: Vance, D. Yandle
Row 12: Nance, Grube
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information