Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 02:26:13

Sponsor 743
October 17
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $7,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 19, 11:43 am)
Moyer tops Pierce in MLRA finale, earns $7,000
  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Ryan Gustin
  4. Tony Jackson Jr.
  5. Chad Simpson
  6. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  7. Shannon Babb
  8. Rusty Schlenk
  9. Chad Finley
  10. Gordy Gundaker
  11. Jeremiah Hurst
  12. Garrett Alberson
  13. Jason Papich
  14. Tony Toste
  15. Trevor Gundaker
  16. Payton Looney
  17. Brennon Willard
  18. Justin Duty
  19. Rick Eckert
  20. Tim Manville
  21. Michael Kloos
  22. Jake Timm
  23. Dewayne Kiefer
  24. Mason Oberkramer
  25. Dennis Erb Jr.
  26. Brent Larson
  27. Rickey Frankel
  28. Chris Simpson
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Billy Moyer pumps a fist after his $7,000 victory at Tri-City Speedway.
What won the race: Holding off Bobby Pierce on the final lap, sixth-starting Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., raced to the $7,000 victory in the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association finale on Saturday night at Tri-City Speedway. He finished 0.720 seconds ahead of Pierce for his 44th career MLRA win.
Quotable: "We made some changes to the car and hit it pretty good,” said Moyer. “Early in the race I was a little bit concerned, but I guess it kind of come to us the longer we went. The bottom was kind of wore out more but I could make better time down there."
Key notes: With Pierce closing in on him late in the race, Moyer held off his high-side charge on the final lap to secure his 845th career victory. … Friday night's winner Mason Oberkamer of Broseley, Mo., retired on lap 26. … Jeremiah Hurst of Dubuque, Iowa, was crowned the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association points champion and Rookie of the Year after Sunday night's finale at Randolph County Raceway fell victim to Mother Nature. … The Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association returned to Tri-City Speedway for the second night of the tour’s weekend tripleheader to close out the 2020 season. Friday and Saturday’s action was presented by Bullet Racing Engines. … Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., swept both nights in the Modified ranks.
On the move: Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, started 23rd and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer’s Clements-powered Capital Race Car is sponsored by Mesilla Valley Transport, Karl Chevrolet, M&S Concrete, Henderson Motorsports and Jack’s CarQuest,
Points chase: Finishing five markers ahead of Chad Simpson, Jeremiah Hurst of Dubuque, Iowa, secured the Lucas Oil MLRA points title and the Rookie of the Year award.
Current weather: Clear, 59°F
Car count: 45
Fast qualifier: Jason Papich
Time: 15.692 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Papich
Heat race winners: Jason Papich, Rick Eckert, Bobby Pierce, Shannon Babb
Consolation race winners: Mason Oberkramer, Dennis Erb Jr.
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Papich, Pierce
Row 2: Eckert, Babb
Row 3: Toste, Moyer
Row 4: Gustin, Manville
Row 5: Timm, Heckenast Jr.
Row 6: Kloos, Jackson Jr.
Row 7: Alberson, Looney
Row 8: Schlenk, Kiefer
Row 9: Oberkramer, Erb Jr.
Row 10: G. Gundaker, Finley
Row 11: Chr. Simpson, Larson
Row 12: Cha. Simpson, Hurst
Row 13: Duty, Willard
Row 14: T. Gundaker, Frankel
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information