Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

Wing earns $5,000 NeSmith win at Whynot

November 20, 2011, 7:02 am
By Roby Helm
NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series

MERIDIAN, Miss. (Nov. 19) — Hometown driver and track owner Rodney Wing posted a wire-to-wire $5,000 victory in the sixth Annual Coca-Cola Zero 75 for the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series on Saturday night at Whynot Motorsports Park.

Wing had a close call with a lapped car on lap 32, but he just made it through and then breezed to victory. Coming through the fourth turn on the 32nd lap, the lapped car of Ryan King spun in front of Wing, who had to take evasive action through the infield and just clipped a utility tire that marked the inside of the racetrack.

“I thought we were in trouble when the lapped car spun in front of us and we hit that utility tire, but we re-enforced our front bumper with some plywood, and it held up,” Wing said. “We really needed this win because our funds were getting pretty low this late in the season. Not much of this race car belongs to me, but I sure do love to drive it.”

Mike Boland of Cuba, Ala., was able to get close to Wing early in the race, but had to settle for second, a half-straightaway behind Wing at the checkered flag. Dan Breuer of Troutman, N.C., finished third and extended his points lead over two-time series champion David Gentry of Lewisburg, Tenn., to 46 points.

Gentry, who was six points behind Breuer coming into the race, was the first car out of the race on lap six when he was forced into the backstretch wall by another car and finished 26th. Gentry’s misfortune earned him the Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award.

Johnny Stokes of Columbus, Miss., took the fourth spot while 18th-starting Eric Cooley of Fulton, Miss., rounded out the top five on a night when 60 Crate Late Model teams crowded the pits.

Coca-Cola Zero 75: (1) Rodney Wing, (2) Mike Boland, (3) Dan Breuer, (4) Johnny Stokes, (5) Eric Cooley, (6) Larry Harrod, (7) Shannon Lee, (8) Matthew Turner, (9) Chase Edge, (10) Daniel Bridgeman, (11) Randy King, (12) T.K. King, (13) Jared Smith, (14) Tody Ratcliff, (15) Jeremy Shaw, (17) Ryan King, (18) Justin McRee, (19) Shay Knight, (20) Jim McDuffie, (21) Randy Boyd, (22) Neil Baggett, (23) Chris O'Connor, (24) Brent Barrett, (25) Tim Dees, (26) David Gentry. Fast qualifier (among 60 cars): Cantrell. Heat race winners: Cantrell, Harrod, Wing, Breuer. Consolation winners: Barrett, Lee. Dash winner: R. King. Provisional starters: Turner, Tice.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728