Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Sharon Speedway

Montgomery earns first Fastrak win at Sharon

September 18, 2011, 5:32 pm
From series reports

HARTFORD, Ohio (Sept. 17) - After advancing from the 13th starting position, Ryan Montgomery of Fairmont, W.Va., overtook Damian Bidwell of Eldred, Pa., on the final lap of Saturday night’s Fastrak Northeast Touring Series event at Sharon Speedway and scored his first career victory on the Crate Late Model tour.

Montgomery, 14, earned $1,200 for the victory and became the youngest winner in the tour’s history.

Bidwell settled for the runner-up finish in the 25-lapper after leading laps 15 to 24. Georg Kowatic of Aliquippa, Pa., was third, followed in the fourth position by Conneaut Lake, Pa., driver Matt Latta, who led lap 14 before fading in the second half of the race. Wayne Robertson of Corning, N.Y., rounded out the top five finishers.

Wexford, Pa., driver Mike Pegher Jr., who won Friday night’s Fastrak weekly event at Sharon, was the early race leader after starting from the pole. But his bid for a weekend sweep fell short when he was caught in a wreck with lapped cars midway through the race.

Fastrak Northeast @ Sharon: (1) Ryan Montgomery, (2) Damian Bidwell, (3) George Kowatic, (4) Matt Latta, (5) Wayne Robertson, (6) Joe Martin, (7) Josh Double, (8) Butch Lambert, (9) Josh Holtgraver, (10) Doug Horton, (11) Mike Pegher Jr., (12) William Thomas, (13) Rod Laskey, (14) Ben Black, (15) Chad Wright, (16) Derek Rogers, (17) Max Blair, (18) Brian Lessley, (19) Kevin Decker, (20) Andrew Wylie, (21) John Volpe, (22) Nolan Dalton, (23) Eric Wilson, (24) Bill Cunningham. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Pegher, Wright, Latta, Dalton. Consolation winners: Kowatic, Lessley. Non-qualifiers' race winner: Wendell Pinckney.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728