Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lizard Creek Speedway

Umberger, Angelicchio win at Thunder Mountain

August 20, 2011, 2:18 pm
From series reports

HANOVER, W.Va. (Aug. 19-20) — Brandon Umberger of Rural Retreat, Va., and Dan Angelicchio of Greensburg, Pa., grabbed Fastrak Racing Series victories at Thunder Mountain Speedway's Mountain Madness weekend.

Umberger earned $2,000 in Friday's weekend opener while Angelicchio picked up $3,000 in Saturday's finale after apparent winner Jordan Dill of Landrum, S.C., was disqualified during postrace inspection.

In Friday's opener, Umberger started outside the front row and led all 30 laps, fighting off challenges from runner-up and polesitter Aaron Barley of Beckley, W.Va. Chris Meadows of Crab Orchard, W.Va., was third followed by the 10th-starting Angelicchio and Mike Pegher Jr. at the 4/10-mile oval formerly known as Hatfield-McCoy Speedway.

In Saturday's 40-lap finale, the fourth-starting Dill took the lead on the 30th lap when frontrunners Lee Cooper and Meadows got together in turn four. Dill fought off challenges from Meadows until electrical issues knocked him out of the second spot, and Angelicchio moved up to challenge late before finishing two lengths behind Hill at the checkers. But as postrace inspection, officials round Dill's carburetor space was larger than the allowed 1 inch, forcing his disqualification.

�“I really do hate that happened for Jordan," Angelicchio said. "We know that didn’t win the race for him, but that is the rule and Fastrak has to enforce it. But we had a great car and put ourselves in a position to win."

Dill's carburetor spacer, purchased at Advance Auto Parts, was advertised as 1-inch but officials found it was as deep as 1.014 inches.

"I am certain that the spacer plate was just an oversight," Fastrak's Stan Lester said. "But we have spelled it out clearly in the rulebook that you should measure these spacers with a micrometer when you buy them."

Cooper, who led the first 29 laps, finished second in the finale followed by Vic Chandler, Larry Blankenship and David Smith.

Notes: The events pitted Fastrak regional drivers from the Southeast and Mideast. ... Umberger has three Fastrak touring victories this season. ... Umberger tangled with Barley on the 16th lap of Saturday's finale. ... The weekend drew racers from West Virginia, Virginia, Tennessee, Kentucky, Pennsylvania and both Carolinas. ... The total weekend purse was $23,000. ... Next up for Fastrak touring drivers is Sept. 2-3 events at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Va., and Sept. 4 at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C.; the Crate Late Model drivers will be in action two straight nights with the Ultimate Super Late Model Series.

Aug. 19 feature: (1) Brandon Umberger, (2) Aaron Barley, (3) Chris Meadows, (4) Dan Angelicchio, (5) Mike Pegher Jr., (6) Steve Dixon, (7) Richard Clew, (8) Ted Johnson, (9) Chad Hale, (10) David Smith, (11) Lee Cooper, (12) Jordan Dill, (13) Rick Solari, (14) Pierce McCarter, (15) Heath Ellis, (16) Kevin Colston, (17) Rickey Strattis, (18) Vic Chandler, (19) David Watts, (20) Matt Long, (21) Larry Blankenship, (22) Brandon Riffe, (23) Frankie Johnston. Fast qualifier: Barley, 18.529 seconds. Heat race winners: Blankenship, Angelicchio.

Aug 20 feature: (1) Dan Angelicchio, (2) Lee Cooper, (3) Vic Chandler, (4) Larry Blankenship, (5) David Smith, (6) Steve Dixon, (7) Mike Pegher Jr., (8) Richard Clew, (9) Brandon Umberger, (10) Chad Hale, (11) Aaron Barley, (12) Mike Smith, (13) Ted Johnson, (14) Heath Ellis, (15) John Broce Jr., (16) Chris Meadows, (17) Rickey Strattis, (18) Matt Long, (19) Caleb Lester, (20) Brandon Riffe, (21) Kenny Peeples Jr., (22) Rick Solari, (23) Frankie Johnston. Disqualified: Jordan Dill. Fast qualifier: Meadows, 18.242. Heat race winners: Long, Broce.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728