Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

McKean County Raceway

Holtgraver outruns local hero at McKean County

August 19, 2011, 2:41 pm
From series reports

EAST SMETHPORT, Pa. (Aug. 18) — Josh Holtgraver overtook hometown hero Steve Dixon on the 11th lap Thursday at McKean County Raceway for a Fastrak Northeast victory in front of the large, partisan crowd. The $1,200 win was Holtgraver's second series victory of the season and third of his career.

"I love racing here," said the 23-year-old Pittsburgh, Pa. driver. "We always have a good car here, but have had a lot of bad luck. This feels great to win. I was trying to run a different line, but rode it out on the bottom as I figured they'd have to pass me there."

Adam Sixt and Dixon started on the front row with Dixon leading the first six laps before Sixt edged ahead on lap seven. Dixon regained the point on a lap-seven restart, but Holtgraver took advantage of another restart three laps later to take a lead he'd never give up. Wayne Robertson of Corning, N.Y., finished second while Dixon settled for third in the 25-lapper.

Fastrak Northeast @ McKean County: (1) Josh Holtgraver, (2) Wayne Robertson, (3) Steve Dixon, (4) Mike Pegher Jr., (5) Max Blair, (6) Kyle Zimmerman, (7) Damian Bidwell, (8) Joe Martin, (9) John Haggerty, (10) Adam Sixt, (11) T.J. Downs, (12) Brad Mesler, (13) Butch Lambert, (14) Rob Marhefka, (15) Tom Kronenwetter Jr., (16) Bob Kish, (17) Junior Peters, (18) Matt Cobb, (19) Garrett Mott, (20) Shane Weaver, (21) John Lacki, (22) Dan Angelicchio, (23) Justin Tatlow, (24) Jamie Brown, (25) Lauren Longbrake. Heat race winners (among 29 cars): Dixon, Zimmerman, Pegher. Consolation winner: Mott. Provisional starter: Longbrake. Non-qualifers' race winner: Brian Haggerty.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728