Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

East Bay Raceway Park

Horton's continued woes boost Cobb at East Bay

February 27, 2011, 2:14 pm
By Roby Helm
NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series

GIBSONTON, Fla. (Feb. 26) – Phillip Cobb of Apollo Beach, Fla., was in the right place at the right time when race leader Doug Horton of Bruceton Mills, W.Va., suffered mechanical problems with 10 laps remaining in the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series 50-lap feature Saturday night at East Bay Raceway Park.

The second-running Cobb inherited the lead when Horton dropped out and led the final 10 laps for his first career NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series victory. He earned $3,000.

“Doug had it won, but we were in the right place at the right time when he dropped out,” Cobb said. “Everything just went our way tonight, and we had a good race. Everyone raced us clean and the track was in great shape.”

Dan Breuer of Troutman, N.C., finished second and Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Fla., finished third. Jack Nosbisch Jr. of Riverview, Fla., was fourth with Jeff Mathews of Tampa, Fla., rounding out the top five finishers.

Horton was credited with an 18th-place finish. It was the second straight night he fell out while leading. He was also in command of Friday night’s NeSmith feature at East Bay, but had a flat tire midway through the $2,000-to-win race.

NeSmith @ East Bay: (1) Phillip Cobb, (2) Dan Breuer, (3) Keith Nosbisch, (4) Jack Nosbisch Jr., (5) Jeff Mathews, (6) Shan Smith, (7) Chip Brindle, (8) Matthew Turner, (9) Greg Roberson, (10) Eric Cooley, (11) David Gentry, (12) David Schmauss, (13) Larry Harrod, (14) Frank Wilson, (15) Bryan Force, (16) Steve Cooke, (17) Steven Miller, (18) Doug Horton, (19) Chase Washington, (20) Bryan Bernhardt, (21) Mark Tice, (22) Michael Blount, (23) Shannon Lee, (24) Doug Watson. Fast qualifier (among 45 cars): Brindle, 15.866 seconds. Heat race winners: Cobb, J. Nosbisch, Horton, Brindle. Consolation winners: Watson, Tice.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728