Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Wythe Raceway

Davenport, Diemel rule at Fastrak Grand Nat'ls

October 24, 2010, 7:21 am
From correspondent reports

RURAL RETREAT, Va. (Oct. 23) — Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., and A.J Diemel of Bonduel, Wis., were the big winners Saturday at Wythe Raceway's Fastrak Grand Nationals. Davenport led all 50 laps of the main event to take the checkered flag, while Diemel won the Grand Nationals points championship and the $30,000 title.

In an event that drew 45 Crate Late Model racers from around the country, Davenport lowered the track record in qualifying, captured his heat race and went the distance in the main event, outrunning Shanon Buckingham of Morristown, Tenn. Diemel finished third followed by hometown driver Brandon Umberger and Jensen Ford of Piney Flats, Tenn.

Diemel won the championship over Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., who picked up $20,000 for second place. Buckingham earned $10,000 for his third-place finish in the Fastrak title chase.

Grand Nationals: (1) Jonathan Davenport, (2) Shanon Buckingham, (3) A.J. Diemel, (4) Brandon Umberger, (5) Jensen Ford, (6) Vic Chandler, (7) Max Blair, (8) Brian Connor, (9) Dan Breuer, (10) Anthony Sanders, (11) David Smith, (12) John Henderson, (13) Lee Cooper, (14) Robbie Blair, (15) Owen Osteen, (16) Mike Pegher Jr., (17) Tim Byrd, (18) Dan Angelicchio, (19) Justin Hirt, (20) Brett Swedberg, (21) Trent Ivey, (22) Frankie Beard, (23) Albert Cosnahan, (24) Bud Watson. Heat race winners (among 45 cars): Davenport, Umberger, Buckingham, Sanders. Consolation winners: Henderson, Byrd.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728