Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Toccoa Raceway

Lowe's first series victory pays $3,000 at Toccoa

August 30, 2010, 11:26 am
From series reports

TOCCOA, Ga. (Aug. 28) — Ty Lowe of Commerce, Ga., led all but three laps Saturday at Toccoa Speedway en route to a victory on the Fastrak Southeast tour. Lowe earned $3,000 for his first victory on the series sponsored by Old Man's Garage.

Lowe led the first 31 laps before Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., took the lead on lap 32. But Davenport's engine gave up three laps later and Lowe went back ahead on lap 35 and completed his victory in the 40-lap feature.

"I hated to see Davenport lose a engine like that, but we will take them any way we can get them," Lowe said.

Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., finished second followed by David Smith of Inman, S.C., who took the series points lead. Dan Breuer of Mooresville, N.C., and Steven Segars of Colbert, Ga., rounded out the top five. Parker Herring of Hartwell, Ga., ran among the leaders early in the race but officials sent him to the pits after one of his crew members went onto the track to work on his car under caution.

Notes: Lowe's Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by Gabriel's Towing. ... Fourteen of 21 starters finished on the lead lap. ... Jay Dunham was competing in one of his final races before heading to Afghanistan for a military tour. ... The tour returns to action Sept. 4 at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Va.

Shriners 40: (1) Ty Lowe, (2) Dennis Franklin, (3) David Smith, (4) Dan Breuer, (5) Steven Segars, (6) Royce Bray, (7) Jay Dunham, (8) Nick Sellers, (9) Steve Cooke, (10) Albert Cosnahan, (11) Blake Bentley, (12) Eric Cooley, (13) Eric McCrackin, (14) Derrick Harvey, (15) Gib Gibbons, (16) Jonathan Davenport, (17) Parker Herring, (18) Chip Brindle, (19) Danny Sanders, (20) Lee Callenback, (21) Jody Farmer. Scratched: Vic Chandler. Fast qualifier (among 22 cars): Lowe, 13.145 seconds.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728