Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Dog Hollow Speedway

Martin holds off Pegher for Dog Hollow victory

August 10, 2010, 9:00 am
From series reports
Joe Martin heads to victory at Dog Hollow. (Derek Bobik)
Joe Martin heads to victory at Dog Hollow. (Derek Bobik)

STRONGSTOWN, Pa. (Aug. 6) — Second-year driver Joe Martin of Ringold, Pa., dominated Friday at Dog Hollow Speedway for his first victory on the Fastrak Northeast circuit for Crate Late Models. The 25-year-old Martin overtook outside front-row starter Dan Karalagas on the ninth lap and led the rest of the 25-lapper.

"The cautions made us work for that one," Martin said. "I kept hearing (Mike Pegher, Jr.) getting closer and closer. I knew where he and Max Blair started and they'd be coming to the front. Those guys keep you on your toes and they are tough any time they are in the ballpark.

"I have to thank my girlfriend and everyone that helps out, and especially Mike Blose because without him I couldn't do it. We were struggling and he helped us with a different setup and it's paying off."

Pegher rallied from 15th to finish second while Dan Angelicchio, Max Blair and polesitter Mike Laughard rounded out the top five.

Karalagas got the jump on Laughard at the outset and led the first eight laps, but after a caution for Bob Cossell IV's spin, Martin raced around the outside of the leader to take command.

Pegher challenged Martin on a few restarts, but he was fast enough to win the race to the checkered flag, and he celebrated by doing donuts in victory lane.

Karalagas ended up 12th.

Fastrak Northeast @ Dog Hollow: (1) Joe Martin, (2) Mike Pegher Jr., (3) Dan Angelicchio, (4) Max Blair, (5) Mike Laughard, (6) Mike Blose, (7) Andrew Satterlee, (8) Josh Holtgraver, (9) Butch Lambert, (10) Gary Knollinger, (11) Bryan Force, (12) Dan Karalagas, (13) Mike Hughes, (14) Ricky Meglaye, (15) Ken Herman, (16) Troy Shields, (17) Shawn Weaver, (18) Joe Moyer, (19) Chris Angelicchio, (20) Bob Cossell IV, (21) Chris Force, (22) Quintin Wyandt, (23) Tim Snare Jr., (24) Bud Watson. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Martin, Blose, Karalagas . Consolation winner: Chris Angelicchio.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728