Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Toccoa Raceway

Franklin leads all the way for $3,000 at Toccoa

June 23, 2010, 9:52 am
From series reports

TOCCOA, Ga. (June 19) — Dennis "Rambo” Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., led every lap of the Georgia Late Model Shootout at Toccoa Speedway for a Fastrak-sanctioned Crate Late Model victory worth $3,000.

Franklin set fast time during qualifying to earn the pole starting position for the 40-lap feature. He then pulled ahead of fellow front-row starter Dan Breuer on the start of the race, as Doug Sanders also moved passed Breuer for second.

Sanders of Spartanburg, S.C., gave chase to Franklin the entire distance, but never mounted a series challenge for the lead as Franklin cruised to the victory. Sanders settled for second with David McCoy of Franklin, N.C., third. Series point leader Royce Bray of Hull, Ga., finished fourth while Parker Herring of Hartwell, Ga., moved up from the 11th-starting position to finish fifth.

With the top-five finish, Bray extended his lead in the point standings to 17 points over David Smith of Inman, S.C. Smith finished 18th Saturday night after dropping out of the race on lap 15 with mechanical problems.

Georgia Late Model Shootout: (1) Dennis Franklin, (2) Doug Sanders, (3) David McCoy, (4) Royce Bray, (5) Parker Herring, (6) Steve Cooke, (7) Frankie Beard, (8) Nick Sellers, (9) Ryan Bryson, (10) Ron Parker, (11) Steven Segers, (12) Jonathan Taylor, (13) Chris Chandler, (14) Brandon Overton, (15) Brian Connor, (16) Derrick Harvey, (17) Albert Cosnahan, (18) David Smith, (19) Dan Breuer, (20) Ty Lowe, (21) Brian Ligon, (22) Chris Steele, (23) Vic Chandler, (24) Lee Callenback.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728