Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Wythe Raceway

Compton's DQ lifts Umberger, Ford to victories

June 1, 2010, 9:12 am
From series reports

RURAL RETREAT, Va. (May 29) — Kenny Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., won both NOS Energy Drink Triple Crown features Saturday when the Old Man’s Garage Fastrak Southeast Series visited Wythe Raceway, but Compton's reign his reign as inaugural Triple Crown champion didn’t last long.

Compton was disqualified for refusing to allow officials to tear down his GM 604 crate engine for technical inspection, handing the 20-lap victories to hometown driver Brandon Umberger and Jensen Ford of Piney Flats, Tenn.

Umberger finished second in the opening feature and third in the night, but Compton's DQ moved him to first and second and gave him the Triple Crown title.

Ford, initially the runner-up in the nightcap, was awarded the victory. Along with his third-place finish in the opening race, he was second to Umberger in Triple Crown points.

Umberger and Ford earned $1,500 apiece for their victories.

NOS Energy Drink Triple Crown (first feature): (1) Brandon Umberger, (2) Doug Sanders, (3) Jensen Ford, (4) Clinton Cook, (5) Chris Cantrell, (6) John King, (7) Chris Steele, (8) Ron Parker, (9) Steve Banal, (10) Royce Bray, (11) David Smith, (12) Vic Chandler, (13) Jerry Broyles, (14) Tim Byrd, (15) Brandon Williams, (16) Blake Bentley, (17) Trevor Agee, (18) Chris Chandler, (19) Daniel Baggerly, (20) Teddy Tate, (21) Anthony Sanders, (22) Rick Rogers, (23) Mark Saut. Disqualified: Kenny Compton Jr.

NOS Energy Drink Triple Crown (second feature): (1) Jensen Ford, (2) Brandon Umberger, (3) Vic Chandler, (4) John King, (5) Clinton Cook, (6) Anthony Sanders, (7) Chris Cantrell, (8) Brandon Williams, (9) Rick Rogers, (10) Blake Bentley, (11) Ron Parker, (12) Timbo Mangum, (13) Chad Hale, (14) David Smith, (15) Chris Steele, (16) Doug Sanders, (17) Royce Bray, (18) Daniel Baggerly, (19) Ryan Atkins, (20) Eddie Bentley, (21) Steve Banal, (22) Chris Chandler, (23) Steve Cooke. Disqualified: Kenny Compton Jr.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728