Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Modoc Raceway

Davenport repeats at Modoc 100 for $10,000

March 6, 2010, 11:28 pm
From track reports
Jonathan Davenport repeated at Modoc. (stonesracingphotos.smugmug.com)
Jonathan Davenport repeated at Modoc. (stonesracingphotos.smugmug.com)

MODOC, S.C. (March 6) — Fourth-starting Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., went around Larry Blankenship of Mooresville, N.C., on the 19th lap Saturday night at Modoc Speedway and dominated the rest of the way for his second consecutive Modoc 100 victory. Davenport earned $10,000 at the Fastrak Southeast event for Crate Late Models that drew a large crowd to the 4/10-mile oval. | Slideshow

Royce Bray of Hull Ga., who started fifth, finished 10 seconds behind in the runner-up spot with 10th-starting Lee Cooper of Greer, S.C., heading forward at the finish to finish third. Brandon Overton of Appling, Ga., and Chris Steele of York, S.C., rounded out the top five.

Travis Blackwell of Lyman, S.C., ran in the top five the first half of the race, but he gave up the third spot at the halfway point with a broken left-front A-frame after limping to the midway break.

Blankenship faded to an 11th-place finish, the last driver still running at the finish in the 24-car field.

The most serious accident among several cautions came on the 28th lap when Kenny Peeples Jr.'s car flipped after contact with Timbo Mangum. Peeples wasn't injured but the red flag was displayed during the lengthy cleanup.

Notes: Davenport drove a Barry Wright Race Car. ... Davenports also earned $500 from City Chevrolet for his fast qualifying time. ... Fifteen cars were running at the halfway break. ... Next up for Fastrak Southeast is a $3,000-to-win event April 3 at Lavonia (Ga.) Speedway.

Modoc 100: (1) Jonathan Davenport, (2) Royce Bray, (3) Lee Cooper, (4) Brandon Overton, (5) Chris Steele, (6) Ron Parker, (7) David Smith, (8) Blake Bentley, (9) Skeeter Redmon, (10) John Henderson, (11) Larry Blankenship, (12) Matt Long, (13) Jeff Burdett, (14), Michael Akeson, (15) Travis Blackwell, (16) Brandon Umberger, (17) Timbo Mangum, (18) Owen Osteen, (19) Keith Freeman, (20) Rodney Peters, (21) Kenny Peeples Jr., (22) David McCoy, (23) Anthony Sanders, (24) Jonathan Taylor. Fast qualifier (among 49 cars): Davenport, 17.327 seconds. Heat race winners: Mangum, Blankenship, Blackwell, Davenport. Consolation winners: Bentley, Overton, Smith.

Correction: Fixes Davenport earned fast time bonus

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728