Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Sharon Speedway

Double's disqualification hands victory to Scott

September 20, 2009, 7:30 pm
By Mike Leone
Fastrak Northeast Series

HARTFORD, Ohio (Sept. 19) — Series points leader David Scott of Garland, Pa., inherited a Fastrak Northeast Series victory at Sharon Speedway when 16-year-old Josh Double came up 13 pounds shy of legal weight after leading the last half of a 25-lap feature.

The disqualification ruined Double's chance for his first victory in just his 20th career race after he took the lead from Bobby Whitling on the 12th lap and led the rest of the way.

"That kid in the 38 ran a hell of a race. ... the race of his life," said the eighth-starting Scott, who earned $1,200. "I gave him serious pressure, but he was so good around the top. I just couldn't get up there to get him. He ran a perfect race and those 13 pounds didn't mean anything, but rules are rules and they enforce them in Fastrak."

Mike Pegher Jr. of Wexford, Pa., was second followed by Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., Bobby Powell of Waterford, Pa., and Joe Martin of Ringgold, Pa. Whitling ended up 10th.

Notes: Scott has now extended his point lead to 19 over Max Blair with one race remaining; Scott can clinch the title by finishing 19th or better. ... Drivers failing to make the feature: Tyler Dietz, Steve Hollabaugh, Justin Kreider, Tom Copeland, Gary Knollinger, Tyler Barris, Doug Iorio II, Jamie Brown and Jeff Porter. ... The season finale is scheduled for Sept. 25 at McKean County Raceway in East Smethport, Pa.

Apple Festival Nationals: (1) David Scott, (2) Mike Pegher Jr., (3) Max Blair, (4) Bobby Powell, (5) Joe Martin, (6) Carl McKinney, (7) Butch Lambert, (8) Kyle Zimmerman, (9) Bryan Salisbury, (10) Bobby Whitling, (11) Garrett Mott, (12) Kyle Layton, (13) John Watson, (14) Bud Watson, (15) Dave Airgood Jr., (16) Kyle Thomas, (17) Daniel Hill, (18) Ben Black, (19) Dan Angelicchio, (20) Mike Blose, (21) Gary Miller Jr., (22) Brian Booher, (23) Tommy Dembowski. Disqualified: Josh Double. Heat race winners (among 33 cars): Scott, McKinney, Pegher, Martin. Consolation winners: Thomas, Booher.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728