Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Roaring Knob Mtsprts Complex

Powell overtakes Sisson for Roaring Knob victory

June 28, 2009, 4:17 pm
From series reports
Bobby Powell gets rolling at Roaring Knob. (Lisa Gower)
Bobby Powell gets rolling at Roaring Knob. (Lisa Gower)

MARKLEYSBURG, Pa. (June 27) — Fifth-starting Bobby Powell of Waterford, Pa., overtook race-long leader Garry Sisson of Uniontown, Pa., with five laps remaining at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex for a 25-lap victory on the Fastrak Northeast tour. Powell earned $1,200 for his third career series victory.

Sisson faded to fifth in the closing laps while Ricky Meglaye of Greensburg, Pa., moved up to second ahead of 15th-starting Dan Angelicchio of Greensburg. Rookie Bud Watson of Conneaut, Ohio, just 16 years old, rallied from 12th to finish fourth.

Notes: Powell's Scott Bidwell-owned car is sponsored by Fame RV Center, Jay's Auto Wrecking and Maloney Tool & Mold. ... Powell crossed the finish line first in the previous night's weekly event at Raceway 7, but he was disqualified after coming up light at the scales. ... Drivers failing to make the feature: Dan Karalagas, Greg Tressler, Bobby Cassell, Tom Copeland, Jayme Beck and Tom Sieger. ... Next up for Fastrak Northeast drivers is a $2,000-to-win event on July 1 at Expo Speedway in Cortland, Ohio; the series moves to Raceway 7 on July 3 for a $1,200-to-win race.

Fastrak Northeast @ Roaring Knob: (1) Bobby Powell, (2) Ricky Meglaye, (3) Dan Angelicchio, (4) Bud Watson, (5) Garry Sisson, (6) Max Blair, (7) Josh Holtgraver, (8) Kyle Thomas, (9) Carl McKinney, (10) Tommy Schirnhofer Jr., (11) John Watson, (12) Mike Howell, (13) Bryan Force, (14) Troy Shields, (15) Mike Pegher Jr., (16) Garrott Mott, (17) Cody Hardesty, (18) Roger Laughlin, (19) David Scott, (20) Joel Prosser, (21) Chris Force, (22) Gary Knollinger, (23) Daniel Hill, (24) Derek Doll. Heat race winners (among 30 cars): Doll, Blair, Powell. Consolation winner: Laughlin.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728