Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Boyd's Speedway

Hixson's late high-side move pays off at Boyd's

April 19, 2009, 3:13 pm
By Steve Hixson
Boyd's Speedway
Rick Hixson tunes up before his $2,500 victory at Boyd's (actionshotsetc.com)
Rick Hixson tunes up before his $2,500 victory at Boyd's (actionshotsetc.com)

RINGGOLD, Ga. (April 17) — Rick Hixson of Soddy Daisy, Tenn., made a high-side move in the waning laps to go from third to first at Boyd's Speedway for a victory in the track's King of Crates Challenge. Hixson earned $2,500 for the unsanctioned victory at the northwest Georgia oval.

James Gamble of Rossville, Ga., led most of the race with Hixson in second. But 10th-starting Billy Mayo of Cleveland, Tenn., used the low groove to take the runner-up spot late, forcing Hixson to try the high side. Hixson went around Mayo and Gamble with less than two laps remaining to take the victory. Mayor ended up second followed by Gamble, Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., and 17th-starting Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn.

Notes: Hixson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Austin Trucking, B.J.'s Flooring and Gene's Racing Parts. ... William Thomas drove Hixson's backup car to a 14th-place finish, then won in it the following night in Top Tracks Challenge Series action at Cleveland (Tenn.) Speedway. ... Three more King of Crates Challenge events are scheduled at Boyd's; the next one is set for June 5.

King of Crates Challenge: (1) Rick Hickson, (2) Billy Mayo, (3) James Gamble, (4) Ray Cook, (5) Ronnie Johnson, (6) Brian Burke, (7) Bobby Mayse, (8) Todd Morrow, (9) Blake Stewart, (10) Jerry Coffman, (11) Jeff Smith, (12) Jerry Fowler, (13) Kayne Hickman, (14) William Thomas, (15) Darel Ownbey, (16) Craig Burrows, (17) Danny Pippen, (18) Bobby Wilson, (19) Casey Hall, (20) Aaron Wheat, (21) Jody Summerville, (22) Alan Green, (23) Lee Gray, (24) Aaron Ridley. Heat race winners (among 43 cars): Fowler, Pritchard, Burke, Hixson. Consolation winner: Thomas.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728