Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Carolina Speedway

Watkins, Weeks triumph at King of the Carolinas

October 28, 2013, 10:17 am
From track reports
Ricky Weeks was crowned at Carolina Speedway. (Randy Houser)
Ricky Weeks was crowned at Carolina Speedway. (Randy Houser)

GASTONIA, N.C. (Oct. 25-27) — Polesitters Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C., and Ricky Weeks of Rutherfordton, N.C., won Late Model-division features at Carolina Speedway’s season-ending King of the Carolinas presented by Carolinas First Defense. Watkins earned $2,500 for Sunday’s Limited Late Model feature victory while Weeks collected $3,000 in Saturday’s feature for NDRA-sanctioned Crate Late Models. | Slideshow

In Sunday's Limited feature, Watkins rallied from 18th after being part of an early caution for a victory over track champion Jay Sessoms of Stanley, N.C. Watkins was 18th on the fifth lap and roared back to regain the lead on lap 17. Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., finished third while Johnathan Edwards of Lake Wylie, S.C., and Doug Sanders of McAdenville, N.C., rounded out the top five.

In Saturday's Crate feature, Weeks kept Bailes in check, edging away at the finish with clean racetrack provided by a late caution. Bailes finished second with Matt Long of Concord, N.C., Corey Gordon of Kenly, N.C., and hometown driver Greg Barker rounding out the top five.

Limited Late Models: (1) Ben Watkins, (2) Jay Sessoms, (3) Ross Bailes, (4) Johnathan Edwards, (5) Doug Sanders, (6) Greg Clark, (7) Johnny Pursley, (8) Richard Clew, (9) Kevin Godwin, (10) Brandon O’Neil, (11) Kevin Wilson, (12) Reggie Primus, (13) Jon Thornburg, (14) Timbo Mangum, (15) Shaun Medlin, (16) Daniel Tucker, (17) Josh Langley, (18) Johnathan Petrea, (19) Anthony Sanders, (20) Colton Robinson. Fast qualifier (among 20 cars): Watkins. Consolation race winners: D. Sanders, Bailes.

NDRA Crate Late Models: (1) Ricky Weeks, (2) Ross Bailes, (3) Matt Long, (4) Corey Gordon, (5) Greg Barker, (6) Timbo Mangum, (7) Adam Yarbrough, (8) Matt Stover, (9) Michael Lake, (10) Josh Langley, (11) Matt Lawson, (12) Brandy Baker, (13) Mark Robinson, (14) Brandon Umberger, (15) Leslie Smith, (16) Johnny Pursley,  (17) Jason Palermo, (18) Troy Brady, (19) George Kowatic, (20) Steve Banal, (21) Anthony Sanders, (22) Furman Parton, (23) Billy Lambert, (24) Gary Puckett, (25) Chris Cantrell. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): Weeks. Consolation race winners: Parton, Mangum.

Correction: Fixes lap leaders in Limited feature.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728