Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tri-County Racetrack

Davenport picks up $4,000 Tri-County victory

May 26, 2008, 4:24 pm
From series and track reports
Jonathan Davenport dt52photos.com)
Jonathan Davenport dt52photos.com)

BRASSTOWN, N.C. (May 24) — Surviving an early wreck and deflating left-front tire, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., rebounded and overcame three-time series champion Anthony White of Clinton, Tenn., for an Advance Auto Parts Thunder Series victory at Tri-County Racetrack. The seventh-starting Davenport earned $4,000 after winning his side-by-side battle with White in the Memorial Day 50 at the 3/8-mile oval in western North Carolina.| Slideshow

“Anthony ran me hard and clean and I just had to dodge all the wrecks by being patient," Davenport said. "I love coming and racing at my home track and just glad I could come here and win again."

White, who took the lead midway through the race before losing the battle with Davenport, fell out of contention in a lap-41 scramble and ended up 11th while Gabe Wilson of Waynesville, N.C., who took the lead when early leader Stacy Boles got into the wall on the 12th lap, finished second for his best-ever finish in sanctioned event. Billy Ogle Jr., Shane Tankersley and Rodney Weeks rounded out the top five in a race slow by 14 cautions. White and Davenport were both involved in an first-lap pileup that saw David Payne eliminated from the race after hard contact.

Notes: Davenport's Mark Beaver-owned car is sponsored by Beaver Bail Bonds, PBM, Ridehonda.com, TWM and Youngblood Concrete. ... Davenport notched his first series victory. ... After several attempts to start the race, it was started single file. ... Josh Morrow on the night's Fastrak feature. ... Tri-County's next Super Late Model special is set for June 14 when the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series invades for a $4,000-to-win event.

AAPTS @ Tri-County: (1) Jonathan Davenport, (2) Gabe Wilson, (3) Billy Ogle Jr., (4) Shane Tankersley, (5) Rodney Weeks, (6) Johnny Chastain, (7) Russell Thomas, (8) Dan Tipton, (9) Rick Rogers, (10) Jeff Weber, (11) Anthony White, (12) Jeff Neubert, (13) Jamie Lunsford, (14) Stacy Boles, (15) Tommy Kerr, (16) Trigg Parris, (17) April Farmer, (18) Jason Payne, (19) George Mashburn, (20) Jamie Oliver, (21) Keith Mashburn, (22) Shawn Chastain, (23) Preston Graves, (24) David Payne. Fast qualifier: Boles, 13.615 seconds. Dash winners: Graves, Davenport.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728