Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Swainsboro Raceway

Davenport tops Lloyd at Swainsboro

July 20, 2013, 12:26 am
From staff and series reports
Jonathan Davenport takes the checkers. (Troy Bregy)
Jonathan Davenport takes the checkers. (Troy Bregy)

SWAINSBORO, Ga. (July 19) — Taking the late-race lead for the second consecutive night, series points leader Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., won at Swainsboro Raceway for back-to-back victories on the Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals. | Slideshow

Davenport overtook outside front-row starter Ivedent Lloyd Jr. on the 41st lap, denying the Ocala, Fla., driver his first victory on the series while Davenport clicked off the seventh of his career in expanding his single-point lead on the Ray Cook-promoted circuit. He earned $5,300 for the 53-lap victory.

Lloyd settled for second while Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., was third followed by Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C. Fast qualifier and polesitter Johnny Pursley of Clover, S.C., who briefly overtook Lloyd to lead the 10th lap, finished fifth.

Cautions appeared for Chip Brindle on the 14th lap and Scott Shirey on lap 23, as well as on a lap-14 restart for a tangle between Billy Ogle Jr. and Chesley Dixon.

The race was the fourth on the 10-race tour that moves to Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, Ga., on Saturday for another $5,300-to-win event.

Notes: Davenport’s AES Racing Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by Davenport Motors, En Compass Solutions, Mega Plumbing and Mega Electric, Ohlins Shocks and Hoosier Tire. ... Davenport is the tour’s first two-time winner of 2013; he won three races in the 2010 campaign. ... Billy Ogle Jr. missed the top five for the first time on the series; he started 13th and finished ninth. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Larry Drowdy, Michael Akeson, Henry Carter and Austin Scarboro.

Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals @ Swainsboro: (1) Jonathan Davenport, (2) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (3) Casey Roberts, (4) Chris Madden, (5) Johnny Pursley, (6) Vic Hill, (7) Brian Reese, (8) Dillon Wood, (9) Billy Ogle Jr., (10) Tony Knowles, (11) Dennis Franklin, (12) Eric Jacobsen, (13) Clint Smith, (14) Stacy Boles, (15) Casey Barrow, (16) Brandon Kinzer, (17) Chip Brindle, (18) Scott Shirey, (19) Brent Dixon, (20) Chesley Dixon, (21) William Thomas, (22) Bubba Russell. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Lloyd, 14.590 seconds. Dash winner: Pursley. Consolation race winner: Roberts, Knowles. Provisional starters: Russell, Smith.

Southern Nationals points

(Through July 19)
1. Jonathan Davenport - 795
2. Chris Madden - 786
3. Billy Ogle Jr. - 766
4. Vic Hill - 764
5. Eric Jacobsen - 723
6. Stacy Boles - 714
7. Bubba Russell - 664
8. Brandon Kinzer - 506
9. Brian Reese - 364
10. Steve Casebolt - 362
Sponsor 896
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728