Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Old No. 1 Speedway

Jackson gets first Comp Cams win at Rockabilly

June 8, 2013, 8:49 am
From series reports
Tony Jackson Jr. heads for his first COMP Cams Series victory. (Woody Hampton)
Tony Jackson Jr. heads for his first COMP Cams Series victory. (Woody Hampton)

HARRISBURG, Ark. (June 7) — Tony Jackson of Lebanon, Mo., opened Northeast Arkansas Speedway’s third annual Rockabilly weekend by leading every lap of Friday’s 33-lap Comp Cams Super Dirt Series event, earning $1,500 for his first-career series victory. | Slideshow

Jackson passed seven cars in his heat race to earn the pole starting spot through the regional tour’s passing points system. He didn’t have to do nearly as much work in the main event.

He led all the way in Jackson Jr. went on to claim the victory over Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark.. Dane Dacus of Lakeland, Tenn., was third with Ross Camponovo of Clarksdale, Miss., and Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., rounded out the race’s top five finishers.

The race was slowed by four cautions. The most serious was four a lap-11 wreck that saw Tanner English of Benton, Ky., barrel-roll his race car at the exit of turn one. English was wasn’t injured, but his car suffered heavy damage.

The COMP Cams Series returns to Northeast Arkansas Speedway on Saturday for the second leg of the Rockabilly weekend. The 45-lap main event pays $3,000 to the winner and at least $300 to every starter.

Notes: Jackson’s Rocket Chassis has a Cornett engine and sponsorship from RLB Financial, Lindsay Chevrolet and Club 29. ... Robert Baker of Bryant, Ark., earned the $100 Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for his run from 21st to 14th. ... English was awarded the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award for his tumble in the feature. ... Outside polesitter Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., slowed from the third position early in the race with a flat tire. ... Championship contenders Robert Baker and Timothy Culp both struggled in their heat races and had to use series provisional to start the main event.

Rockabilly 33: (1) Tony Jackson Jr., (2) Kyle Beard, (3) Dane Dacus, (4) Ross Camponovo, (5) Brad Looney, (6) Chadler Petty, (7) Jesse Stovall, (8) Jeff Floyd, (9) Clay Fisher, (10) Justin Asplin, (11) Keith Craft, (12) Randy Todd, (13) Jon Mitchell, (14) Robert Baker, (15) Timothy Culp, (16) Mason Oberkramer, (17) Ashley Newman, (18) Jack Sullivan, (19) Rodney Melvin, (20) Wendell Wallace, (21) Terry English, (22) Tanner English. Heat race winners (among 39 cars): Beard, Jackson, Dacus, Wallace, Camponovo. Consolation winners: Mitchell, Newman.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728