Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Richmond Raceway

McGuire tops Jewell for BoB victory at Richmond

May 4, 2008, 7:00 am
From series reports
Josh McGuire won $3,000. (dt52photos.com)
Josh McGuire won $3,000. (dt52photos.com)

RICHMOND, Ky. (May 3) — Josh McGuire of Grayson, Ky., took the lead from Bobby Wolter Jr. on the fifth lap and fended off former track champion Mike Jewell amid lapped traffic in winning the 11th annual Spring Sizzler at Richmond Raceway. McGuire's second career O'Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series victory was worth $3,000. Jewell, of Scottsburg, Ind., finished second ahead of Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., reigning series champion Victor Lee of Stanford, Ky., and Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky. Wolter ended up eighth in the caution-free event. | Slideshow

After McGuire took command of the race, Jewell took second from Wolter on the seventh lap and began his pursuit. The top two pulled away beginning on lap 13 and began worked traffic on lap 19, just before the halfway mark. Jewell was right on McGuire's rear deck on the 30th lap with Carrier now harassing Jewell in a battle for second. McGuire made a key move to clear lapped traffic on the 34th lap, and held on for the victory despite things tightening up the final few laps.

Notes: Josh McGuire's winning C.J Rayburn Race Car has a GCP Race Engine and sponsorship from D.J.’s Kitchen Corner, D&C Salyers Construction, Baby Cat Trucking, K&E Trucking, Glenny Glass, Long Architectural Sales, Ashland Specialty, Tri State Floor Covering and RW Rental Supply. ... McGuire's first series victory came May 31, 2007, at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, Ky. ... Chris Combs drove for Michael England, who is out of action because of a broken wrist. .. Victor Lee took the PPM Racing Products hard charger honors by rallying from 12th to finish fourth. ... The series heads to Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway for a May 10 event previously rained out on April 19. ... Also, Ponderosa changed the makeup date of its rained out event to May 16 instead of June 13.

O'Reilly BoB @ Richmond: (1) Josh McGuire, (2) Mike Jewell, (3) Eddie Carrier Jr., (4) Victor Lee, (5) Michael Chilton, (6) Tyrel Todd, (7) Whitney McQueary, (8) Bobby Wolter Jr., (9) Eric Wells, (10) Tim Tungate, (11) Jeff Watson, (12) Dustin Neat, (13) Zach Carney, (14) David Webb, (15) Larry Gray, (16) Bobby Carrier Jr., (17) Chris Combs, (18) Jason Keltner, (19) Jason Barrett, (20) Marty Stepp, (21) Arnie Fields, (22) Royce McGowan, (23) Jimmy Crabtree, (24) Aaron Hatton. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): Keltner, 15.765 seconds. Heat race winners: McGuire, Jewell, Wolter, McQueary. Consolation winners: Combs, Stepp. Provisional starters: Fields, McGowan, Barrett, B. Carrier.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728