Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1135
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cleveland County Speedway

Chupp eyes bonus after Clash win in Lawndale

May 3, 2008, 12:16 pm
From series reports
Randle Chupp earned $5,000. (thesportswire.net)
Randle Chupp earned $5,000. (thesportswire.net)

LAWNDALE, N.C. (May 2) — Randle Chupp of Troutman, N.C., led all the way in the Skyler Trull Memorial weekend opener at Cleveland County Speedway for a $5,000 Carolina Clash Late Model Series victory. Chupp stands to receive $15,000, including a $5,000 bonus, if he can complete a weekend sweep with a victory in Saturday night's 58-lapper. | Slideshow

"It feels great to win one of the Carolina Clash races," Chupp said of his first series win. "I have to thank Jack Starrette and all this Starrette Trucking crew for all their hard work."

Chupp, who started outside the front row, fought off challenges from Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., for the victory. McCreadie ended up second ahead of Benji Cole of Canon, Ga., Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., and Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga. Fast qualifier Jonathan Davenport was running in the top five when a lap-35 flat tire knocked him out of contention.

Notes: Chupp's winning car is sponsored by Starrette Trucking and R.W. Powell Construction. ... Dale McDowell, in the Hamrick's Motorsports No. 97, rallied from his 22nd starting spot to finish 10th. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Steve Hendren, Scott Autry, Larry Blankenship, Doug Sanders and Johnny Pursley. ... Saturday's weekend finale pays $10,000 to the winner.

Clash @ Cleveland County: (1) Randle Chupp, (2) Tim McCreadie, (3) Benji Cole, (4) Dennis Franklin (5) Casey Roberts, (6) Petey Ivey, (7) Brandon Kinzer, (8) Jason Fitzgerald, (9) Ed Gibbons, (10) Dale McDowell, (11) Ricky Weeks, (12) Damon Eller, (13) Chris Meadows, (14) Jeff Smith, (15) Dan Breuer, (16) Jonathan Davenport, (17) Deano Long, (18) Tim Allen, (19) Jeff Cooke, (20) Steve Blackburn, (21) Kevin Tessner, (22) Mike Duvall, (23) Furman Parton, (24) Ed Basey. Fast qualifier (among 40 cars): Davenport. Dash winners: Chupp, Franklin.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728