Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Talladega Short Track

Ogle nabs pole position at Ice Bowl XXII

January 5, 2013, 7:32 pm
From track and contributor reports
Billy Ogle Jr. will start on the pole Sunday at Talladega. (dt52photos.com)
Billy Ogle Jr. will start on the pole Sunday at Talladega. (dt52photos.com)

EASTABOGA, Ala. (Jan. 5) — Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., will start on the pole of Sunday’s Ice Bowl XXII at Talladega Short Track after topping 57 drivers in time trials and capturing Saturday’s first heat race.

Ogle, coming off a six-victory season, starts on the front row alongside last year’s winner Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., winner of the second heat. The remainder of the five heat winners — Ross Martin of Talladega, Ala.; David Brannon of Huntland, Tenn.; and Jason Wilson of Margaret, Ala. — will start in then next three starting spots in Sunday’s $6,000-to-win main event for the Super Late Model division.

Ogle’s 14.587-second quick lap at the third-mile oval set up his successful Saturday for the unsanctioned event, one of the most prestigious dirt races in Alabama. He outran Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., and Ethan Hunter of Tiger, Ga., in the first of five preliminary races to earn the pole position for Sunday’s 50-lapper.

While Super Late Model preliminaries were completed, afternoon rain halted prelims in other divisions midway through the Limited Late Model heat races. The completion of Saturday’s scheduled preliminaries are scheduled to resume at 10:30 a.m. Sunday followed by consolation races and feature events for the remaining divisions.

Fifteen drivers are locked into the main event for the Super Late Model division.

Notes: Gates open at 8 a.m. Sunday followed by a drivers’ meeting at 9, worship service at 9:30, opening ceremonies at 10 and racing at 10:30. ... Michael Asberry of Crossville, Tenn., had the day’s fastest Super Late Model lap at 14.570 seconds, but he was disqualified when his No. 360 came up light at the scales. ... The Limited Late Model division drew 49 cars. ... The Super Late Model division drew entries from nine states.

Super Late Models

Ice Bowl XXII lineup
Row 1: Billy Ogle Jr., Ray Cook
Row 2: Ross Martin, David Brannon
Row 3: Jason Wilson, Riley Hickman
Row 4: William Thomas, Frank Ingram
Row 5: Tony Knowles, Michael Page
Row 6: Ethan Hunter, Logan Yates
Row 7: Terry Smith, Bret Holmes
Row 8: Jason Hiett, First consolation winner
Row 9: Second consolation winner, third consolation winner
Row 10: First consolation runner-up, second consolation runner-up
Row 11: Third consolation runner-up, first consolation third place

Row 12: Second consolation third place, third consolation third place

Heat race results

First heat: Billy Ogle Jr., Riley Hickman, Ethan Hunter, Jason Welshan, Jackson Hale, Tim Roszell, Bobby Mayse, Luke Hoffner, Dennis Reno, Levi Ashby, Andy Standridge.

Second heat: Ray Cook, William Thomas, Logan Yates, Kyle Beard, Eddie Blackmon, Josh Putnam, Cory Hedgecock, Skip Freeman, Chase Edge, Caleb Ashby, Bobby Lowe, Aaron Ridley, Tim Howard.

Third heat: Ross Martin, Frank Ingram, Terry Smith, Kevin Gill, Thomas Dacus, Joey Standridge, Andy Picklesimer, Tommy Surrett, Charles Zimmerman, Jerry Trotter, David Dotson.

Fourth heat: David Brannon, Tony Knowles, Bret Holmes, Lamar Scoggins, Braden Mitchell, Michael Asberry, Chad Winkles, David Seibers, Rodney Weeks, Danny Peoples, Mario Gresham.

Fifth heat finish: Jason Wilson, Michael Page, Jason Hiett, Larry Timms, Ryan King, Larry Boutwell, Cale Finley, Jamie Dacus, Josh Henry, Lee Burdett, Benji Cole.

Consolation lineups

First consolation lineup
Row 1: Jason Welshan, Lamar Scoggins
Row 2: Eddie Blackmon, Ryan King
Row 3: Joey Standridge, Bobby Mayse
Row 4: Chad Winkles, Skip Freeman
Row 5: Jamie Dacus, Charles Zimmerman
Row 6: Levi Ashby, Danny Peoples
Row 7: Bobby Lowe, Benji Cole
Second consolation lineup
Row 1: Kyle Beard, Larry Timms
Row 2: Thomas Dacus, Tim Roszell
Row 3: Michael Asberry, Cory Hedgecock
Row 4: Cale Finley, Tommy Surrett
Row 5: Dennis Reno, Rodney Weeks
Row 6: Caleb Ashby, Lee Burdett
Row 7: David Dotson, Aaron Ridley
Third consolation lineup
Row 1: Kevin Gill, Jackson Hale
Row 2: Braden Mitchell, Josh Putnam
Row 3: Larry Boutwell, Andy Picklesimer
Row 4: Luke Hoffner, David Seibers
Row 5: Chase Edge, Josh Henry
Row 6: Jerry Trotter, Andy Standridge
Row 7: Mario Gresham, Tim Howard
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728