Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Florence Speedway

Robinson wins Fall 50 for $5,000 at Florence

October 14, 2012, 5:22 am
From track and other reports
Kent Robinson heads for victory at Florence. (rdwphotos.smugmug.com)
Kent Robinson heads for victory at Florence. (rdwphotos.smugmug.com)

UNION, Ky. (Oct. 13) — Kent Robinson of Bloomington, Ind., made a three-wide move for the lead early at Florence Speedway and raced to victory in the unsanctioned Fall 50 to pocket $5,000.

The 25-year-old Robinson, a regular on the World of Outlaws Late Model Series, started fifth and made a low-side move under front-row starters Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., and Wayne Chinn of Bradford, Ohio, to take command on the sixth lap. He led the rest of the way for his second victory of the season. | Slideshow

Eric Wells of Hazard, Ky., who started fourth, finished second followed by Carrier and former track champion Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg, Ind., who rallied from outside the eighth row. Kyle Logue of Cisco, Ill., advanced eight position to round out the top five in his first-ever visit to Florence. Chinn ran in the top five most of the way before finishing ninth and Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., ran as high as fourth before finishing eighth.

The most serious accident came for a turn-three scramble that included Stephen Breeding, Jesse Lay and Bobby Pierce among others.

Notes: Robinson’s MasterSbilt Race Car has a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsorship from JB’s Salvage, Keyser Manufacturing, DK Designs and GW Performance. ... Robinson’s previous 2012 victory came May 19 at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway. ... The Fall 50 wrapped up Florence’s season. ... Heat winner Jeff Babcock made an early pit stop and ended up 17th. ... Fellow heat winner Steve Casebolt also ran into trouble. ... Robby Hensley had already clinched the track points title. ... In the $5,000-to-win modified portion of the program, which drew 90 cars, National Dirt Late Model Hall of Famer Rick Aukland of Zanesville, Ohio, won the main event over 2009 World 100 winner Bart Hartman.

Fall 50: (1) Kent Robinson, (2) Eric Wells, (3) Eddie Carrier Jr., (4) Jason Jameson, (5) Kyle Logue, (6) Greg Johnson, (7) Joe Janowski, (8) Brian Ruhlman, (9) Wayne Chinn, (10) Eric Jacobsen, (11) Rod Conley, (12) Robby Hensley, (13) Josh McGuire, (14) D.J. Wells, (15) Duane Chamberlain, (16) Terry Lanigan, (17) Jeff Babcock, (18) Bobby Pierce, (19) Ben Adkins, (20) Jesse Lay, (21) Chad Smith, (22) Stephen Breeding, (23) Steve Casebolt, (24) Casey Noonan, (25) Mike Jewell. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Carrier, Casebolt, Babcock, Robisnon. Consolation winner: Jewell.

Correction: Fixes that winning pass was made on sixth lap sted fourth

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728