Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Golden Triangle Raceway Park

Davis wins photo finish at Golden Triangle

April 27, 2008, 8:13 am
From series reports
Lee Davis (21) edges a faltering Kevin Sitton. (ronskinnerphotos.com)
Lee Davis (21) edges a faltering Kevin Sitton. (ronskinnerphotos.com)

BEAUMONT, Texas (April 25) — Rising to the occasion after tough luck struck two leaders, Lee Davis of Greenwood, La., won a photo finish at Golden Triangle Speedway for his first O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing Series victory in three years. Davis earned $2,000 for his fifth career SUPR victory as he nipped polesitter and series rookie Kevin Sitton at the checkered flags. | Slideshow

Sitton, of Baytown, Texas, had inherited the lead late in the race when officials black-flagged leader Chris Wall of Holden, La., who had suffered damage to the front of his car hitting an infield tire barrier. Sitton led at the white flag but his fuel pump started to fail on the last lap, and Davis won the drag race off turn four for the victory. Duke Whiseant of Texarkana, Ark., finished third followed by Kyle Cummings of Minden, La., and Howard Willis of Dayton, Texas.

Notes: The winning car is sponsored by Stuckey Enterprises, Jack Springs, PTS Racing Engines and Performance Steel Buildings. ... Davis last won on the SUPR circuit April 9, 2005, at Champion Park Speedway in Doyline, La. .... Rob Litton, winner over the previous SUPR event, was running third when he was collected by the slower car of Richard Mills on the 35th lap. ... The April 26 event at Houston Raceway Park was rained out. ... The next series event is scheduled for May 3 at ArkLaTex Speedway in Vivian, La.

SUPR @ Golden Triangle: (1) Lee Davis, (2) Kevin Sitton, (3) Duke Whiseant, (4) Kyle Cummings, (5) Howard Willis, (6) Ronny Adams, (7) Ray Moore, (8) Doug Begnaud, (9) Robbie Stuart, (10) Allen Tippen, (11) Ryan Plaisance, (12) Jeff Chanler, (13) Keith Craft, (14) Michael Coleman, (15) Ryan Fontenot, (16) William Keeney, (17) Chris Wall, (18) Rob Litton, (19) Richard Mills, (20) Patrik Daniel, (21) Brock Williams. Heat race winners (among 21 cars): Sitton, Tippen, Litton.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728