Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bluegrass Speedway

Marlar slides past Bland, wins at Bardstown

April 27, 2008, 7:44 am
By Michael Despain
O'Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass
Mike Marlar (78) topped Jordan Bland (12). (dt52photos.com)
Mike Marlar (78) topped Jordan Bland (12). (dt52photos.com)

BARDSTOWN, Ky. (April 26) — Mike Marlar's turn-three slide job on Jordan Bland on the 18th lap gave him a lead he'd never give up in the 11th annual Spring Sizzler at Bluegrass Speedway. Marlar's series-leading 11th career O'Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series victory paid $3,000 as he won the event in Bardstown for the second consecutive year. | Audio slideshow | Series notebook | Slideshow

Victor Lee of Stanford, Ky., got into second with two laps remaining in the 30-lapper, but couldn't catch Marlar as Bland, of Campbellsville, Ky., settled for third after leading the first 17 laps at the half-mile oval. Tyrel Todd of Eubanks, Ky., was fourth and Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., finished fifth after towing back from a Friday night rainout in Pennsylvania. Brad Neat rallied from 19th to eighth to earn the PPM Racing Products Hard Charger honors. The race was slowed by a single caution on the second lap when Jason Keltner, Dustin Neat and Ed Behn tangled in turn two near the back of the 23-car pack.

Notes: Marlar drove the Steve Estes-owned Estes Race Engines house car, a car he also piloted to victory in an unsanctioned event April 5 at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky. The C.J. Rayburn Race Car is sponsored by Wayne Bowen Racing Supply, Glenn Hensley Trucking and Stephens Motorsports. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Cody Mahoney, Royce McGowan, Shannon Thornsberry, Tim Prince and Jeff Glisson. ... The series next heads to May 2-3 races at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky., and Richmond (Ky.) Raceway, both $3,000-to-win events.

O'Reilly BoB @ Bluegrass: (1) Mike Marlar, (2) Victor Lee, (3) Jordan Bland, (4) Tyrel Todd, (5) Don O'Neal, (6) Terry English, (7) Joey Daniel, (8) Brad Neat, (9) Aaron Hatton, (10) Joey Kramer, (11) Chris Wilson, (12) Zach Carney, (13) Tim Tungate, (14) Dustin Neat, (15) David Webb, (16) Jason Keltner, (17) Larry Gray Jr., (18) Chris Combs, (19) Eric Wells, (20) Greg Johnson, (21) D.J. Wells, (22) Ed Behn, (23) Mike Jewell. Fast qualifier (among 34 cars): O'Neal, 15.446 seconds. Heat race winners: Bland, Lee, Marlar, Daniel. Consolation winners: D. Neat, Combs. Provisional starters: Keltner, Johnson, Behn.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728