Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Duck River Raceway Park

Hollingsworth bags $3,000 at Duck River

September 29, 2012, 7:34 am
By Connie Putnam
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Ronny Lee Hollingsworth picked up a $3,000 victory at Duck River. (photobyconnie.com)
Ronny Lee Hollingsworth picked up a $3,000 victory at Duck River. (photobyconnie.com)

WHEEL, Tenn. (Sept. 28) — Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., raced to a $3,000 victory during Friday night’s Southern Regional Racing Series event at Duck River Speedway, leading flag-to-flag a dominating victory after lowering the quarter-mile oval’s track record during time trials. | Slideshow

Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., topped defending series champion Josh Putnam of Florence, Ala., in a back-and-forth battle for the runner-up spot with Daniel Miller of Lynchburg, Tenn., fourth and David Brannon of Huntland, Tenn., fifth.

Polesitter Tanner English of Benton, Ky., ran second for much of the event, but pulled to the pits under a lap-19 caution.

The 40-lap races was slowed by five cautions, the most series coming on the first attempt to start the race when a turn-one pileup necessitated a complete restart.

Notes: Hollingsworth’s Flynn Motorsports Barry Wright Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine with sponsorship from Waddle Trucking, Kelley Electrical Contractors and X-Treme Graphics. … The previous track record was 12.494 seconds, held by Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss. … The victory is the third of Hollingsworth’s career on the SRRS tour and his first since winning at Duck River on March 6, 2010. … The SRRS tour returns to action with a $3,000-to-win event Oct. 19 at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Ga.

SRRS @ Duck River: (1) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (2) Riley Hickman, (3) Josh Putnam, (4) Daniel Miller, (5) David Brannon, (6) Jay Brinkley, (7) Todd Morrow, (8) Tim Busha, (9) Jay Scott, (10) Jeff Watson, (11) Scott Cook, (12) Josh Henry, (13) Cale Finley, (14) Randy Todd, (15) Tony Morris, (16) Tanner English, (17) Chad Winkles, (18) Eric Hickerson, (19) Brad Glass, (20) Corey Posey, (21) David Seibers, (22) Caleb Ashby, (23) Brad Skinner, (24) Kenny Cobble. Fast qualifier (among 37 cars): Hollingsworth, 12.458 seconds. Dash winner: English. Heat winners: Busha, Winkles, Todd, Scott.

Correction: Fixes Hollingsworth's engine builder.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728