Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Diamond Park Speedway

Sullivan wins Comp Cams at Diamond Park

August 12, 2012, 7:30 am
From series reports
Jack Sullivan celebrates with son Jace after his Comp Cams Series victory. (Woody Hampton)
Jack Sullivan celebrates with son Jace after his Comp Cams Series victory. (Woody Hampton)

NASHVILLE, Ark. (Aug. 11) — Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., raced to the fourth Comp Cams Super Dirt Series victory of his career Saturday night at Diamond Park Speedway, earning $2,000 in topping Eric Turner of Springfield, Mo. | Slideshow

Polesitter Robert Baker of Bryant, Ark., who won earlier this season in series action at Diamond Park, finished third with series points leader Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, fourth and reigning series champion Brandon Smith of Floral, Ark., fifth.

With several cautions slowing the early-going, Baker was in control until Sullivan took over on the 11th lap. Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., looked to be a contender, but a brake rotor malfunction forced him to retire just by the midway point. Turner worked his way past Baker for second while Sullivan became the 11th tour winner of 2012.

Notes: Sullivan's GRT Race Cars house car is sponsored by Bryant Motorsports, Central Arkansas Pest Services, Triple A Diesel Service and DSI Motorsports. … Sullivan, who’s chasing the World of Outlaws Rookie of the Year Award, earning his third overall victory of the season. … Sullivan’s most recent Comp Cams victories came during a sweep of the tour’s July 18-19, 2008, doubleheader at Batesville Motor Speedway. ... Tommy Surrett won the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger honors with his 16th-to-eighth run. ... The series takes a break before returning to action on Sept. 7-8 at Northeast Arkansas Speedway in Harrisburg, Ark., for the second annual Rockabilly 45

Comp Cams @ Diamond Park: (1) Jack Sullivan, (2) Eric Turner, (3) Robert Baker, (4) Jon Mitchell, (5) Brandon Smith, (6) Gary Christian, (7) Curtis Cook, (8) Tommy Surrett, (9) Chandler Petty, (10) Kyle Beard, (11) Keith Lawson, (12) Odie Green, (13) Larry Potter, (14) Jake Davis, (15) Kenneth Jackson, (16) Trey Beene, (17) Billy Moyer Jr., (18) Travis Mosley, (19) Jeff Chanler, (20) Wesley Crutchfield. Heat race winners: (among 22 cars): Sullivan, Mitchell, Smith.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728