Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

North Florida Speedway

Whitener sweeps North Florida's UDLMCS event

August 5, 2012, 9:12 am
From series reports
Mark Whitener (58) heads for victory at North Florida Speedway. (ricksdarkroom.com)
Mark Whitener (58) heads for victory at North Florida Speedway. (ricksdarkroom.com)

LAKE CITY, Fla. (Aug. 4) — Former series champion Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., posted a clean sweep of Saturday night’s action at North Florida Speedway, setting fast time, winning his heat race and claiming a $3,000 victory in the 4/10-mile oval’s United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series feature. | Slideshow

Whitener drew the fourth starting spot in a redraw among heat race winners, but made his way to the front to overtake polesitter Ryan VanSickle on lap 34 of the 50-lap race. Whitener led the remaining distance en route to his second series victory of the season and 13th of his career.

Jason Fitzgerald of Jacksonville, Fla., made a late-race pass to take second, forcing VanSickle, to settle for third. Christian Augspurger of Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., earned the race’s hard-charger award with his drive from 16th to fourth while defending series champion and current points leader Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Fla., took fifth.

Notes: Whitener’s Big Frog Motorsports Barry Wright Race Car is powered by a Koury Engine with sponsorship from Dave’s Towing, Antis Roadside Service and Towing and Hi-Way Automotive. … Whitener’s 13 series victories is second to Ivedent Lloyd Jr.’s 15 wins on the tour’s all-time wins list. … Whitener and Augspurger trail Nosbisch with five races remaining in the chase for the tour’s $10,000 championship. … The next series event is another $3,000 event slated for Sept. 1 at North Florida.

UDLMCS @ North Florida: (1) Mark Whitener, (2) Jason Fitzgerald, (3) Ryan VanSickle, (4) Christian Augspurger, (5) Keith Nosbisch, (6) Tyler Ivey, (7) Johnny Collins, (8) Kyle VanSickle, (9) Adam Bedenbaugh, (10) Scott Legasse, (11) Jack Nosbisch, (12) David Crews, (13) Stanton Mills, (14) Kyle Owen, (15) Doug Watson, (16) Jamie Slatton. Fast qualifier: Whitener. Heat race winners: R. VanSickle, K. VanSickle, Whitener.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728