Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Talladega Short Track

SAS-ruling Weaver wins TST's Head Memorial

July 29, 2012, 5:32 am
From series reports
Randy Weaver (116) stalks Tim Busha (15) at Talladega. (gfkphotography.com)
Randy Weaver (116) stalks Tim Busha (15) at Talladega. (gfkphotography.com)

TALLADEGA, Ala. (July 28) — Series points leader Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., continued his solid season on the Southern All Star Series during Saturday night’s Michael Head Jr. Memorial at Talladega Short Track, earning $3,500 for his fourth victory in nine series events this season. | Slideshow

Weaver, who won his second consecutive SAS race at Talladega, was followed at the finish by Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., in the runner-up spot and Jason Heitt of Oxford, Ala., in third. Brandon Kinzer of Allen, Ky., and Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., rounded out the race’s top five finishers.

Notes: Weaver’s GRT Race Car is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Outlaw Race Parts. … Weaver extended his points lead over Mike Weeks, who ran into trouble in finishing 24th. ... Weaver also won the June 23 SAS stop at Talladega. ... The series made its third of four 2012 visits to TST. ... The Southern All Star Series take a brief break before returning to action on Aug. 18 at Cleveland (Tenn.) Speedway.

Michael Head Jr. Memorial: (1) Randy Weaver, (2) Tim Busha, (3) Jason Heitt, (4) Brandon Kinzer, (5) Ronnie Johnson, (6) Jake Knowles, (7) Todd Morrow, (8) Shane Clanton, (9) Terry Smith, (10) Joe Armistead Jr., (11) Jackson Hale, (12) Ross Martin, (13) Eric Cooley, (14) Dingus Griffin, (15) Shan Smith, (16) Danny Peoples, (17) Tim Roszell, (18) Shane Tankersley, (19) Doug King, (20) Tom Maddox, (21) Matt Dooley, (22) Adam Martin, (23) Jason Wilson, (24) Mike Weeks. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): Busha, 14.127 seconds. Consolation race winners: Clanton, Cooley.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728