Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Old No. 1 Speedway

Moyer Jr. wins again at Northeast Arkansas

July 29, 2012, 5:09 am
From series reports
Billy Moyer Jr. emerges from his car after his Comp Cams victory in Harrisburg, Ark. (Woody Hampton)
Billy Moyer Jr. emerges from his car after his Comp Cams victory in Harrisburg, Ark. (Woody Hampton)

HARRISBURG, Ark. (July 28) — Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., scored his third Comp Cams Super Dirt Series victory of the season Saturday night at Northeast Arkansas Speedway, earning $2,000 for his second straight victory in series action at the quarter-mile oval. | Slideshow

Moyer Jr., the 2009 Comp Cams Series champion who won the tour’s first stop at Northeast Arkansas on June 9, led all but one lap in topping runner-up Jon Kirby of Russellville, Ark., in Saturday night’s feature race followed by Robert Baker of Bryant, Ark. First-lap leader Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Ark., and Todd Hall of Charleston, Mo., rounding out the race’s top five finishers in the 100th all-time series event.

A melee on a lap-25 restart knocked out several drivers when Kirby drifted up the track into Kyle Beard, pinching him into the frontstretch wall. Beard's lame car slowed on the frontstretch and was struck by the cars of Keith Lawson, Curtis Cook, Brandon Smith and Derrick Richter. Cook was taken to the hospital with what was thought to be a broken arm; other drivers were sore but otherwise uninjured. The cleanup took 30 minutes.

Notes: Moyer’s Victory Circle Chassis is sponsored by Henderson Motorsports, Crop Production Services, Banner Valley Hauling and Car City. … Moyer Jr.'s other Comp Cams victory this season came on May 12 at Crawford County (Ark.) Speedway. … Moyer Jr. also won a Comp Cams race at Northeast Arkansas in 2010. … The Comp Cams Series returns to action Aug. 4 at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark.

Comp Cams @ Northeast Arkansas: (1) Billy Moyer Jr., (2) Jon Kirby, (3) Robert Baker, (4) Jon Mitchell, (5) Todd Hall, (6) Allen Murray, (7) Robert Lovette, (8) Clay Fisher, (9) Bill Frye, (10) Chandler Petty, (11) Kenneth Jackson, (12) Tanner English, (13) Curtis Cook, (14) Robby Moore, (15) Brandon Smith, (16) Kyle Beard, (17) Keith Lawson, (18) Derrick Richter, (19) Wendell Wallace, (20) Raymond Merrill, (21) Jeff Floyd. Heat race winners: Moyer Jr., Murray, Mitchell.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728