Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Richmond Raceway

McGuire earns $7,500 for repeat at Butterball

July 22, 2012, 6:38 am
From track reports
Josh McGuire (41) moves by Jeff Watson en route to victory. (Tim Lee)
Josh McGuire (41) moves by Jeff Watson en route to victory. (Tim Lee)

RICHMOND, Ky. (July 21) — Josh McGuire of Grayson, Ky., capped off a stellar weekend with a repeat victory in Saturday night’s 25th annual Sunoco Race Fuels Butterball Wooldridge Memorial at Richmond Raceway.

McGuire, who kicked off the weekend with a $3,000 victory in Friday’s Jack Shutts Memorial at Skyline Speedway in Stewart, Ohio, earned $7,500 Saturday for his eighth overall victory of 2012 and his second consecutive victory in Richmond’s unsanctioned special. | Slideshow

Greg Johnson of Bedford, Ind., was the runner-up at the 3/8-mile oval, ahead of third-place finisher Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va. Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg, Ind., was fourth with 20th-starting Todd Coffman rounding out the top five finishers.

Jeff Watson led at the outset followed by Chris Combs, McGuire, Terry English and Greg Johnson. After a lap-13 yellow for Tim Tungate, McGuire moved up to second, challenging Watson before taking the lead on lap 16. McGuire led the rest of the way while Watson fell from contention in a 40-minute race slowed by three cautions.

Notes: McGuire's MasterSbilt is powered by a GCP Racing Engines and sponsored by DJs Kitchen Corner, U.S. Steel, Mar-Kel Enterprises, HCI, K&E Trucking, Tri-State Floor Covering, Budda and PRC. … The track's Late Model division is sponsored by Coyotoe 100.7 FM. ... The victory gives McGuire three straight, including a $2,000 triumph July 15 at Portsmouth (Ohio) Raceway Park. … The event was postponed one week because of rain. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Joey Daniel, Michael Chilton, Dennis Barton, Wesley Brummett, Tommy Carlton, Tanner English, Skyler Marlar and Brandon Hardgrove

Butterball Wooldridge Memorial: (1) Josh McGuire, (2) Greg Johnson, (3) Eddie Carrier Jr., (4) Jason Jameson, (5) Todd Coffman, (6) Brad Neat, (7) Chris Combs, (8) Justin Rattliff, (9) Dustin Neat, (10) Jason Barrett, (11) Zack Dohm, (12) Dennis Roberson, (13) Jarrod Breeding, (14) Timmy Yeager, (15) Jeff Watson, (16) Mike Jewell, (17) Greg Lucas, (18) Victor Lee, (19) Michael England, (20) Terry English, (21) Tim Tungate, (22) Aaron Hatton. Fast qualifier (among 39 cars): McGuire, 15.247 seconds. Heat race winners: McGuire, Combs, English, Watson. Consolation winners: Barrett, Roberson. Provisional starters: Yeager, Hatton.

Correction: Adds U.S. Steel as McGuire sponsor; removes SEBCO.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728