Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Magnolia Motor Speedway

Weaver completes SAS sweep of Mississippi

May 28, 2012, 8:20 am
From series and correspondent reports
Klint Byars (5), Randy Weaver (116) and Scott Creel (31) battle up front at Magnolia. (foto-1.net)
Klint Byars (5), Randy Weaver (116) and Scott Creel (31) battle up front at Magnolia. (foto-1.net)

COLUMBUS, Miss. (May 27) — Series points leader Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., completed a weekend Mississippi sweep of Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series action with Sunday’s victory at Magnolia Motor Speedway’s Governor’s Cup.

Weaver, who rallied from his 13th starting spot Saturday to win at Whynot Motorsports Park, inherited the lead when polesitter Klint Byars of Carrollton, Miss., retired with mechanical problems after building a commanding lead. Weaver led the rest of the way to become the first two-time Southern All Star winner this season. | Slideshow | Video

Consolation race winner Rodney Wing of Meridian, Miss., rallied to second and challenged Weaver late in the 50-lapper. But Weaver held on, focing Wing to settle for the runner-up finish.

Robbie Starnes of Dayton, Texas, was third with Scott Creel of Franklinton, La., and Neil Baggett of Shannon, Miss., rounding out the top five finishers at the 3/8-mile oval.

The race was slowed by five cautions, with the first coming 29 laps into the race when hometown driver Brian Rickman slowed with a flat tire. Mike Weeks of Friendsville, Tenn., spun in turn three one lap later to cause the second caution.

Mechanical woes for Larry Boutwell of Baker, Fla., slowed the pace with 35 laps complete. To false starts on the ensuing restart led race officials to use single-file restarts for the remainder of the event.

Notes: Weaver’s GRT Race Car is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Outlaw Race Parts. ... Weaver has 16 career Southern All Star victories. ... Klint Byars also led at Whynot, but ended up third after clipping an infield tire barrier and breaking a spindle. ... Next up for the Southern All Stars is the $3,500-to-win B.J. Parker Memorial on June 9 at Talladega Short Track in Eastaboga, Ala.

Governor’s Cup: (1) Randy Weaver, (2) Rodney Wing, (3) Robbie Starnes, (4) Scott Creel, (5) Neil Baggett, (6) William Thomas, (7) Rick Rickman, (8) Stacy Caldwell, (9) Eric Cooley, (10) Scott Dedwylder, (11) Dane Dacus, (12) Shan Smith, (13) Jay Burchfield, (14) Hunter Rasdon, (15) Mike Weeks, (16) Leon Henderson, (17) Klint Byars, (18) Jimmy Cliburn, (19) Dylan Ames, (20) Larry Boutwell, (21) Brian Rickman, (22) Jason Cliburn, (23) Bradley Price, (24) Jamie Elam. Fast qualifier (among 40 cars): Byars, 14.046 seconds. Consolation race winners: Rasdon, Cooley, Wing.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728