Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Batesville Motor Speedway

Moyer cruises to hometown Comp Cams victory

April 16, 2012, 6:28 am
From series reports
Billy Moyer lapped all but six drivers in his 30-lap victory. (Woody Hampton)
Billy Moyer lapped all but six drivers in his 30-lap victory. (Woody Hampton)

LOCUST GROVE, Ark. (April 13) — Enjoying a cruise at his hometown track, Hall of Famer Billy Moyer led all 30 laps Friday at Batesville Motor Speedway for a $2,000 payday on the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series.

Rallying from the tail of a heat race to win the prelim, the 54-year-old Moyer earned the pole for the main event and led all the way in a race slowed by a single yellow. Moyer lapped all but six competitors in winning his second series event of the season and sixth of his career. | Slideshow

Outside front-row starter R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, Ariz., finished second ahead of the winner's son, Billy Moyer Jr. Robert Baker of Bryant, Ark., and reigning track champ Brandon Smith of Floral, Ark., rounded out the top five.

The lone caution appeared on the first lap when series rookie Chandler Petty of Austin, Ark., jumped the cushion in turn-two and smacked the wall.

Notes: Moyer's Victory Circle Chassis has a Clements Racing Engine and sponsorship from Henderson Motorsports, L&D Trucking, Banner Valley Hauling, Car City, New Vision Graphics, Sweet Mfg., Watter's Autoland and Cooley Transport. ... Johnny Virden was the recipient of the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger award after advancing from his 15th starting spot to seventh. ... Chandler Petty received the Quarter Master Hard Luck award for his first-lap accident.

Comp Cams @ Batesville: (1) Billy Moyer, (2) R.C. Whitwell, (3) Billy Moyer Jr., (4) Robert Baker, (5) Brandon Smith, (6) Clay Fisher, (7) Johnny Virden, (8) Wendell Wallace, (9) Jack Sullivan, (10) Stacy Taylor, (11) Jon Mitchell, (12) Kyle Beard, (13) Larry Campbell, (14) Todd Hall, (15) Brian Ritchie, (16) Jon Kirby, (17) Jason McBride, (18) Curtis Cook, (19) Allen Murray, (20) Chandler Petty. Heat race winners (among 29 cars): Ritchie, Whitwell, Moyer Sr., Baker. Consolation winners: Virden, Hall.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728