Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bubba Raceway Park

Lloyd completes sweep of Ocala's Mike Peters Open

April 15, 2012, 12:23 pm
From track reports
Ivedent Lloyd Jr. (21) duels with Mark Whitener (58) at Ocala. (rewingphotos.com)
Ivedent Lloyd Jr. (21) duels with Mark Whitener (58) at Ocala. (rewingphotos.com)

OCALA, Fla. (April 14) — Hometown Ivedent Lloyd Jr. of Ocala, Fla., completed a sweep of Bubba Raceway Park's Mike Peters Open with a $3,000 victory Saturday on the United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series. Lloyd pocketed $6,000 for the weekend, including another $3,000 for winning Friday night's main event. | Slideshow

Tyler Ivey of Tallahassee, Fla., took the checkers second with Jack Nosbisch Jr. of Riverview, Fla., in third. Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Fla., and Jeff Mathews of Tampa roundout out the top five in a 50-lap race slowed by five cautions.

Kyle Van Sickle of Jacksonville, Fla., who led UDLMCS points entering the weekend, drew the first two cautions with spins and ended up last in the 20-car rundown.

Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., got the jump at the outset, but Lloyd went ahead on the eighth lap for four circuits before Whitener briefly regained control.

Lloyd was ahead when Jason Burke's turn-two spin slowed the action, but Whitener didn't give up, going back ahead on lap 24 for four more circuits. But Lloyd took the lead for good on lap 28, and Whitener's race ended with mechanical trouble on lap 41. Lloyd pulled away over the final nine laps for his series-leading 15th career UDLMCS victory.

Notes: Lloyd drives a Snow Brothers Chassis sponsored by United Racing Supply, IBS Machine Products and Augusta Delivery Service. ... The two-night event honored former track owner Mike Peters. ... J.O. Nobles won the night's Limited Late Model feature. ... UDLMCS competitors take a break before the 17th annual Powell Memorial on June 1-2 at Ocala. Two $5,000-to-win purses are up for grabs.

Mike Peters Open: (1) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (2) Tyler Ivey, (3) Jack Nosbisch Jr., (4) Keith Nosbisch, (5) Jeff Mathews, (6) Rich Pratt, (7) Bryan Bernhardt, (8) Richard Ferry, (9) Christian Augspurger, (10) Matt Hartley, (11) Josh Peacock, (12) Bo Allen, (13) Brandon DeWitt, (14) Nelson Sweeney, (15) Mark Whitener, (16) John Koller, (17) Bobby Richardson, (18) Jason Burke, (19) Kenny Monohan, (20) Kyle Van Sickle. Scratched: Ryan Van Sickle.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728