Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Texas Motor Speedway

GRT's Sullivan pockets $3,500 at Fort Worth

March 4, 2012, 2:02 am
From track and series reports
Jack Sullivan heads for victory at Fort Worth, Texas. (Getty Images)
Jack Sullivan heads for victory at Fort Worth, Texas. (Getty Images)

FORT WORTH, Texas (March 3) — Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., captured Saturday's Port-A-Cool Texas World Dirt Track Championship for his second career victory at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track. Sullivan earned $3,500 in the season opener on the Southern United Professional Racing tour victory. | Slideshow

"All wins are special," said the 36-year-old Sullivan, whose first victory at TMS came in 2010. Sullivan said. "Racers talk about wins but it's funny how somebody will remember a win a little more than you. But you never forget them, you always remember it. I've been lucky enough to win two of them here."

Sullivan, who started fifth in the 50-lapper, took the lead from outside front-row starter Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., on the 14th lap and led the rest of the way at the 4/10-mile oval.

Third-starting John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., finished second followed by polesitter and home-state driver Morgan Bagley of Longview. Vaught, last year's winner, was fourth and Kevin Sitton of Baytown, Texas, advanced 12 positions to round out the top five.

Dennie Gieber of Frankston, Texas, who captured his second limited modified victory at the track, was ninth.

Notes: Sullivan's GRT Race Cars house car is sponsored by Bryant Motorsports, Central Arkansas Pest Services, Triple A Diesel Service and DSI Motorsports. ... The victory is Sullivan's first since Aug. 5, 2011, at Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, Ill. ... Late Model pilot Chris Brown of Spring, Texas, crossed the finish line first in the modified feature, but Iowa native Kelly Shryock inherited the victory because Brown's car failed postrace tech inspection. Shryock led the majority of the 40-lap feature before Brown took the lead just before the white flag dropped. ... Steve Whiteaker Jr. of Corpus Christi, Texas, pulled triple duty at TMS, qualifying for the features in all three classes. Whiteaker Jr. finished 16th in SUPR, seventh in modified and 21st in limited modified. ... SUPR competitors return to action March 17 at Jones Motor Speedway in Chatham, La.

Port-A-Cool Texas World Dirt Track Championship: (1) Jack Sullivan, (2) John Anderson, (3) Morgan Bagley, (4) Will Vaught, (5) Kevin Sitton, (6) Rob Litton, ( 7) Jon Mitchell, (8) Robbie Starnes, (9) Dennie Gieber, (10) Chris Holley, (11) Derek Perkins, (12) Chris Brown, (13) Tommy Weder Jr., (14) Lee Davis, (15) Jay Brunson, ( 16) Steve Whiteaker Jr., (17) B.J. Robinson, (18) Allen Tippen, (19) Zach McMillan, (20) Timothy Culp, (21) Jeff Chandler. Heat race winners (among 40 cars): Anderson, Vaught, Brunson, Bagley. Consolation winners: Sitton, Whiteaker.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728