Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Jackson Motor Speedway

Hollingsworth scores MSCCS repeat at Jackson

October 6, 2010, 12:43 pm
From track reports
Ronny Lee Hollingsworth earned $3,000 at Jackson. (Tammy Davis)
Ronny Lee Hollingsworth earned $3,000 at Jackson. (Tammy Davis)

BYRAM, Miss. (Oct. 2) — Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., captured his second straight Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series event at Jackson Motor Speedway, earning $3,000 in Jackson's inaugural Mississippi State Championship.

Driving Henry Cooper's No. 14, Hollingsworth started outside the front row, got the jump on polesitter Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., and led all the way in the 50-lapper. He took the checkers a straightaway ahead of Smith to duplicate his Sept. 11 victory at JMS, also in Cooper's car.

“I’m super-excited to have Ronny Lee in my car,” Cooper said. “Ronnie Lee won down here back in September in front of a great crowd here at Jackson and then this win, in front of this crowd, just puts the icing on the cake.”

Jimmy Cliburn of Star, Miss., finished third while Jeremy Broadus of Biloxi, Miss., and Ray Moore of Haughton, La., rounded out the top five. Series points leader David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., was sixth.

Two cautions slowed the action. George Paul spun in turns one and two on the initial restart and a lap-28 yellow appeared when Joseph Joiner and Junior Williams were involved in a minor incident exiting turn four.

Notes: The winning Barry Wright Race Car has a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsorship from Country Pleasin' Sausage and Handicap Mobility Inc. ... The event wraps up the season at the Don Cliburn-owned quarter-mile oval. "I promise you 2011 is going to be event bigger," said Cliburn, who completed his third season operating the track. ... Cliff Williams won the night's Crate Late Model feature. ... MSCCS competitors wrap up the season Oct. 9 with a $2,500-to-win event at Greenville Speedway.

Mississippi State Championship: (1) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (2) Clint Smith, (3) Jimmy Cliburn, (4) Jeremy Broadus, (5) Ray Moore, (6) David Breazeale, (7) Kyle Beard, (8) Chad Thrash, (9) Brooks Strength, (10) Neil Baggett, (11) Jon Mitchell, (12) Timothy Culp, (13) Keith Miller, (14) Morgan Bagley, (15) Jason Cliburn, (16) Steve Bryan, (17) Brad Banes, (18) Mark Paul, (19) Joseph Joiner, (20) Scott Dedwylder, (21) Junior Williams, (22) George Paul, (23) Daniel Moore. Fast qualifier (among 35 cars): Smith. Consolation race winners: Thrash, Broadus, Mitchell, Strength. Dash winner: Smith.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728